2018/19 A-League Women’s Season Review 

Mel Andreatta’s side finished just one from the top in Brisbane Roar’s eleventh season in the W-League that saw them reach the Semi Finals. 

Roar stepped foot on the finals stage but went down 2-1 to Sydney FC in the Semi Final despite their best efforts to make a comeback with a 92nd minute goal from Yūki Nagasato. 

Roar won six games, lost four, drew two and scored 18 goals with Allira Toby taking out the Golden Boot for the second time after scoring five goals. 

Clare Polkinghorne led the pack as Captain in a team that featured current CommBank Matilda’s including Mackenzie Arnold, Kaitlyn Torpey, Katrina Gorry and Hayley Raso. 

Jenna McCormick had transferred from Adelaide United this season and was a great asset to the backline at only 23 years of age. 

Youngsters Indiah-Paige Riley and Hollie Palmer showcased the quality of up-and-coming youth in the squad. 

BRFC 2018/19 A-League Women’s squad:

Goalkeepers: 1. Mackenzie Arnold, 20. Annalee Grove

Defenders: 2. Carson Pickett, 4. Clare Polkinghorne, 5. Jenna McCormick, 8. Kaitlyn Torpey, 11. Natalie Tathem, 14. Summer O’Brien, 21. Dani Ward

Midfielders: 6. Celeste Boureille, 10. Katrina Gorry, 17. Yūki Nagasato, 18. Leah Davidson, 22. Anna Margraf

Forwards: 7. Indiah-Paige Riley, 9. Chioma Ubogagu, 12. Allira Toby, 15. Abbey Lloyd, 16. Hayley Raso, 19. Hollie Palmer

Head Coach:
Mel Andreatta

Award Winners:
BRFC Player of the Year: Clare Polkinghorne
BRFC Player’s Player of the Year: Celeste Boureille
BRFC Golden Boot: Allira Toby
Young Player of the Year: Indiah-Paige Riley