2020/21 A-League Women’s Season Review

The 2020/21 campaign marked a stellar season for the orange and black with a second-place finish after going down 6-2 at the hands of Melbourne Victory in the Semi Final. 

Brisbane Roar rounded out the season with 25 points after 7 wins, 1 loss and 4 draws. The squad scored 29 goals across 12 games, 13 of which belonged to Golden Boot Award Winner Emily Gielnik. 

Captain Clare Polkinghorne, Jamilla Rankin, Tameka Yallop and Emily Gielnik were named in the starting XI for ALW Team of the Season.

Roar kept five clean sheets across the campaign with Georgina Worth contributing to four of those and Morgan Aquino to one.  

BRFC 20/21 A-League Women’s squad:

Goalkeepers: 1. Georgina Worth, 21. Morgan Aquino, 28. Cassandra Zaffina, 

Defenders: 2. Kaitlyn Torpey, 4. Clare Polkinghorne (C), 6. Winonah Heatley 7. Kim Carroll, 16. Jamilla Rankin

Midfielders: 8. Mariel Hecher, 10. Katrina Gorry, 11. Sharn Freier, 14. Leticia McKenna, 19. Rebekah Horsey, 23. Isobel Dalton

Forwards: 9. Rosie Sutton, 12. Larissa Crummer, 13. Tameka Yallop, 15. Emily Gielnik, 22. Anna Margraf, 25. Olivia Chance

Head Coach: Jake Goodship

Club Award Winners:

ALW Golden Boot: Emily Gielnik

ALW Women Breakthrough Player of the Year: Jamilla Rankin

ALW Players’ Player: Clare Polkinghorne

ALW Player of the Year: Isobel Dalton