2021/22 A-League Men Season Review

Ahead of Brisbane Roar’s 20th A-League season in 2024/25 we’re winding back the clock and taking a look a years gone by.

The 2021/22 A-League Men’s season was Brisbane Roar’s 17th in the top-flight with the club finishing in eleventh position on the league table under Warren Moon.

BECOME A MEMBER: 2024/25 Memberships on sale now

Henry Hore impressed in his first season at A-League level after joining the club from South Melbourne, with the midfielder who scored five goals being awarded the club’s Breakthrough Player of the Year.

Juan Lescano finished as the club’s top scorer in what proved to be his only season in the A-League, while other new attacking recruits, Nikola Mileusnic and Luke Ivanovic chimed in with five and four goals respectively.

Jay O’Shea, who was awarded the Gary Wilkins Medal again showed why he is one of the competition’s best midfielders, playing every match of the campaign, registering 10 assists and three goals.

Only Newcastle’s Daniel Penha provided more assists throughout the 2021/22 season than the Irishman.

A number of youngsters who came through the club’s NPL program including Kai Trewin, Cyrus Dehmie and Eli Adams showed encouraging signs in their contributions throughout the campaign.

Brisbane Roar reached the Australia Cup Quarter Finals with wins over Peninsula Power and Lions FC before bowing out at the hands of Sydney FC in the final eight.

Dehmie’s hat-trick in the sides 4-1 Round of 16 victory over Lions were enough to see him finish at the Australia Cup Finals Rounds top goal scorer.

Brisbane Roar 2021/2022 A-League Men Season

Position: 11th (26 Points)
Wins: 7
Losses: 14
Draws: 5
Goals Scored: 29
Goals Conceded: 39
Biggest Win: 4-1 vs. Perth Glory (A) (19th of April, Round 19)
Highest Home Attendance: 7,127 (25 April 2022 vs. Melbourne Victory)
Clean Sheets: 5 (3 for Macklin Freke & 2 for Jordan Holmes)
Captain: Tom Aldred

Top Goal Scorers:
Juan Lescano:
Henry Hore:
Nikola Mileusnic:
Luke Ivanovic:
Jay O’Shea:

BRFC 21/22 A-League Men’s squad:

Goalkeepers: 1. Macklin Freke, 12. Jordan Holmes

Defenders: 2. Scott Neville, 3. Corey Brown, 4. Anton Mlinaric, 5. Tom Aldred (C), 6. Connor Chapman, 16. Josh Brindell-South, 19. Jack Hingert, 27. Kai Trewin

Midfielders: 7. Rahmat Akbari, 8. Matti Steinmann, 11. Jez Lofthouse, 15. Jesse Daley, 21. Nick Olsen, 26. Jay O’Shea, 35. Louis Zabala

Forwards: 9.Luke Ivanovic, 10. Nikola Mileusnic, 13. Henry Hore, 18. Ryo Wada, 22. Alex Parsons, 23. Juan Lescano, 29. Cyrus Dehmie

Head Coach: Warren Moon

Award Winners:

Club’s Golden boot winner:  Juan Lescano
Players’ player of the year: Jay O’Shea
Player of the Year (Gary Wilkins Medal): Jay O’Shea
Breakthrough Player of the year: Henry Hore