2022/23 A-League Women’s Season Review

The 2022/23 A-League Women’s campaign marked the fifteenth season of the A-League Women and saw Garrath McPherson’s squad finish ninth on the ladder. 

Brisbane Roar won four games with eight losses, six draws, 16 goals and three clean sheets. 

This squad boasted the likes of Larissa Crummer, Mariel Hecher and American Shea Connors for goal scoring prowess in the front line before Hecher tore her ACL in a win against Western Sydney in December 2022. 

Crummer played her 100th A-League game and celebrated this achievement with the club in Round 17 in front of home support at Perry Park. 

Matildas midfielder Katrina Gorry returned for her 11th season in orange after a stint in Sweden with Kajsa Lind who joined the backline to boost the defensive stocks. Gorry was named on the bench for the 2022/23 ALW Team of the Season. 

Shea Connors took out the Golden Boot for the Liberty A-League after scoring a total of six goals in the competition, including a goal-scoring run in four consecutive games.  

Jessie Rasschaert and Talitha Kramer announced their retirements at the conclusion of the season after contributing immensely to the backline. 

Youngster Aleeah Davern made her debut in the previous season but continued to grow and develop at A-League level throughout the 2022/23 campaign. 

Young Matilda Jamilla Rankin was a consistent and strong asset to the backline in her last season in Brisbane before joining Melbourne Victory. 

These youngsters were accompanied by the likes of rising star Zara Kruger and New Zealand international Indiah-Paige Riley. 

Club Award Winners:

ALW Golden Boot: Shea Connors

ALW Young Player of the Year: Jamilla Rankin

ALW Players’ Player: Hensley Hancuff  

ALW Player of the Year: Shea Connors   

BRFC 22/23 A-League Women’s Squad:

Goalkeepers: 1. Isabella Shuttleworth, 21. Mia Bailey, 51. Hansley Hancuff

Defenders: 2. Annabel Haffenden, 3, Jessie Rasschaert, 5. Jamilla Rankin, 7. Tamar Levin, 17. Talitha Kramer, 19. Hollie Palmer, 23. Kajsa Lind, 

Midfielders: 6. Hollie McQueen, 7. Ayesha Norrie (C), 10. Katrinna Gorrie, 16. Zara Kruger, 18. Teagan Thompson, 31. Aleeah Davern, 78. Margot Robinne

Forwards: 4. Kijah Stephenson, 8. Mariel Hecher, 9. Larissa Crummer, 11. Sharn Freier, 12. Shea Connors, 20. Georgia Beaumont, 27. Indiah-Paige Riley

Head Coach: Garrath McPherson