Academy Wrap: Young Roar suffer Pro Series Defeat to St George Willawong

Young Roar’s Kappa Pro Series campaign continued with a 5-1 defeat at the hands of St George Willawong at Griffith University on Sunday afternoon.

A Riley Gill goal proved to be a mere consolation against a St George side, who found the back of the net through Alex Simmons, Jacob Fulluck, Sazdo Gjorgiev and Deng Deng.

Rylan Brownlie returned to from injury to play his first competitive match since December while Quinn MacNicol, Shae Cahill and Ryan Lethlean, who have all played A-League minutes this season were amongst those in action for Young Roar.

The home side started strongly and took the lead after just five minutes through Alex Simmons, who popped up with a back post finish to open the scoring.

Roar enjoyed plenty of possession in the opening stanza with their best chance coming in the 26th minute to James Durrington, who brilliantly brought down a long ball before dragging his effort wide of the target with only the keeper to beat.

Five minutes later the St George doubled their lead through Jacob Fulluck, who put the finishing touch on a swift counter attacking move from Danny Gnjidic’s side.

Substitute, Sazdo Gjorgiev extended St George’s lead to four with a quickfire brace, consisting of a pair of close range finishes midway through the second stanza.

Deng Deng scored St George’s fifth in the 77th minute when he found space in behind the Roar defence and found the bottom corner with a finish from a tight angle.

Young Roar pulled a goal back in the 83rd minute through Riley Gill, who slammed home a finish at the near post after being played in by Ty Cobb.

Next up for Young Roar is a trip to Toowoomba to face SWQ Thunder next Sunday afternoon on their third match of the Kappa Pro Series group stage.

The 2024 NPL Queensland season kicks off with a clash against Brisbane City at Meakin Park on Saturday, February 24.

Kappa Pro Series 2024 – Round 2: St George Willawong v Brisbane Roar
Griffith University, Nathan
Sunday, 11 February

St George Willawong – 5 (Alex SIMMONS 5’, Jacob FULLUCK 31’, Sazdo GJORGIEV 65’ 69’ Deng DENG 77’)
Brisbane Roar – 1 (Riley GILL 83’)