ALM R1 Preview: Macarthur v Brisbane Roar

Brisbane Roar kick off the 2023/24 Isuzu UTE A-League Men’s season on the road against Macarthur at Campbelltown Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The start of a new league campaign comes off the back of the club’s best ever Australia Cup run which saw Ross Aloisi’s reach the final for the first time.

Roar’s Australia Cup campaign was highlighted by stellar showings from some of Queensland’s brightest young talents, with 18-year-old striker Tom Waddingham netting four goals including the winner in the Semi and opener in the Final.

15-year-old Quinn MacNicol became the club’s youngest ever player and goal scorer in the Roar’s Round of 16 win over Sydney United.

Under new Head Coach Ross Aloisi Roar have returned to their high-octane attacking brand of football which the Roar’s best years are remembered for.

Seven new players joined Aloisi in the arrivals lounge ahead of a season that will see the side return to Suncorp Stadium with Matt Acton, Alex Parsons, Florin Berenguer, Joe Caletti, Aaron Reardon, Shae Cahill and Jonas Markovski all signing on in orange.

Standing in the way of three points and the Roar in Saturday’s season opener are Macarthur who aim to improve on their 12th placed finish in 2022/23.

Mile Sterjovski’s side have been busy in the off season brining in seven new faces themselves headlined by former Monaco and Marseille forward Valere Germain.

Roar and Macarthur have met six times in Isuzu UTE A-League Men’s action with the Bulls winning on three occasions, Roar two with just the solitary draw having been played out between the pair.

Saturday’s match kicks off at 2:30pm at Campbelltown Stadium and will be broadcast live on Paramount+.

Isuzu UTE A-League Men 2023/24 – Round 1: Macarthur FC v Brisbane Roar FC
Campbelltown Sports Stadium
Saturday, 21 October (2:30pm KO)

Macarthur FC squad: Filip KURTO, Danijel NIZIC, Tomi USKOK, Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, Matt JURMAN, Ivan VUJICA, Matt MILLAR, Yianni NICOLAOU, Isaac HOVAR, Jerry SKOTADIS, Jake HOLLMAN, Charles M’MOMBWA, Ulises DAVILA, Clayton LEWIS, Kearyn BACCUS, Kristian POPOVIC, RAPHAEL, Lachie ROSE, Valere GERMAIN, Jesper WEBBER, Jed DREW, Ali AUGLAH.

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Macklin FREKE, 2. Scott NEVILLE, 5. Thomas ALDRED, 6. Joe CALETTI, 7. Florin BERENGUER, 8. Jonas MARKOVSKI, 10. Nikola MILEUSNIC, 12. Taras GOMULKA, 13. Henry HORE, 14. Rylan BROWNLIE, 16. Thomas WADDINGHAM, 19. Jack HINGERT, 22. Alex PARSONS, 23. Aaron REARDON, 26. Jay O’SHEA, 27. Kai TREWIN, 29. Matt ACTON, 32. James NIKOLOVSKI, 35. Louis ZABALA, 99. Ayom MAJOK