ALW RD22 Match Preview: Brisbane Roar v Canberra United

Brisbane Roar will face Canberra United in the last round of the 2023/24 Liberty A-League season this Saturday at Perry Park in hopes of securing three wins on the bounce to end the season strong. 

Both Brisbane and Canberra are out of the running for a top six spot and will instead both be chasing three points to finish the season on a high note. 

Liberty A-League Women’s Captain Ayesha Norrie will hit 100 A-League Women matches this Saturday against Canberra United at Perry Park. 


Norrie anticipates a good challenge from Canberra after they defeated last year’s Champions Sydney FC on Wednesday afternoon. The squad are feeling determined after a productive training week as they look for three points this Saturday to round the season off positively at home.

“The feeling is good, positive! We’ve had a few wins now so just looking to do that again against Canberra.”

“They’re a good squad, they’ve had a few wins in the last few games so they’re going to come out firing, but we just have to match that and play our game and have full confidence.”


Games: 20
Brisbane wins: 8
Canberra wins: 8
Draw: 4

KEY STATS – Brought to you by Opta 

  • Canberra United are unbeaten in their last six A-League Women matches against Brisbane Roar FC (W2 D4) with neither side keeping a clean sheet in that term; though, they were winless in six matches prior to this span (D1 L5).
  • Brisbane Roar FC have only lost one of their last five A-League Women matches at Perry Park (W3 D1), including two 2-0 wins against Perth Glory and Melbourne City FC in their last two matches at the venue.
  • Canberra United have scored six goals from outside the box this A-League Women season, the second most of any team despite their 22 shots on target from outside the box being the fewest of any team; Vesna Milivojevic has scored a joint league high three goals from outside the box this season.
  • Leah Scarpelli (Brisbane Roar FC) has made 12.3 passes into the final third per game this A-League Women season, the most of any player and nearly five per game more than Canberra United’s best Sarah Clark (7.5).
  • Michelle Heyman (Canberra United) has scored 11 goals across her last 11 games in the A-League Women including one in each of her last two; indeed, she’s now scored 16 goals in the 2023/24 season which is the second most of any player in a single campaign (17 – Sam Kerr in 2018/19).

Brisbane Roar R22 Liberty A-League Squad:

1. Keeley RICHARDS, 2. Rebecca KIRKUP, 3. Deborah-Anne DE LA HARPE, 4. Kijah STEPHENSON, 5. Jenna MCCORMICK, 6. Holly MCQUEEN, 7. Ayesha NORRIE (C) 8. Mariel HECHER, 9. Mia CORBIN, 11. Sharn FREIER, 12. Tamar LEVIN, 13. Tameka YALLOP, 14. Sarah O’DONOGHUE, 17. Leah SCARPELLI, 18. Teagan THOMPSON, 19. Hollie PALMER, 20. Bonnie DAVIES, 21. Isabella SHUTTLEWORTH, 23. Ashlee BRODIGAN, 32. Alicia WOODS

Liberty A-League Women 2023/24 – Round 22: Brisbane Roar v Canberra United
Perry Park, Bowen Hills  
Saturday, 30 March (3:00pm KO)  
Gates open at 2:00pm