Brisbane blaze into history books


Brisbane Roar have rewritten the history books in style, beating Perth Glory 4-0 to claim the all-time Australian undefeated record across any football codes tonight at Suncorp Stadium.

Brisbane Roar have rewritten the history books in style, beating Perth Glory 4-0 to claim the all-time Australian undefeated record across any football codes tonight at Suncorp Stadium.

NSW Rugby Football League-s Eastern Suburbs had held the previous record of 35 matches without a loss since 1937, but Brisbane Roar emphatically quashed any other ideas by quickly notching up four goals in twenty first-half minutes to record their 36th unbeaten game in a row.

Unsurprisingly, Head Coach Ange Postecoglou named an unchanged line-up from their record-equalling 2-1 victory over Newcastle Jets one week ago with the same outfield substitutes – Jack Hingert, Luke Brattan and James Meyer – taking up their place on the bench.

Perth looked to soak up the pressure of Brisbane-s high-tempo possession game straight from the opening whistle, content to limit their chances of poaching the opening goal through counter attacks.

The home side broke the deadlock in the 23rd minute though when Besart Berisha was found unmarked inside the six-yard following a swift move started in the backline by Matt Smith.

The ever-reliable Roar captain, present in every single one of Brisbane-s unbeaten matches, passed the ball wide to Henrique who pulled off the deftest of flicks to unleash Thomas Broich inside the area.

The German sent a teasing cross across the face of goal, leaving prolific striker Berisha with little to do except tap the ball into the back of the net.

Brisbane had their second ten minutes later when Canadian international Issey Nakajima-Farran was the recipient of another pinpoint Broich delivery.

Doing well to evade the offside trap, Nakajima-Farran collected the ball with ease at the head of the penalty area and made no mistakes when faced with just Glory ‘keeper Danny Vukovic to beat.

Just eight minutes later, Nakajima-Farran played a quick one-two with Ivan Franjic and tapped the ball through the tightest of angles for his second on the night, and third of the Hyundai A-League season.

However, Brisbane weren-t done with their first-half flurry and extended their advantage to four goals just before the break after Berisha powered a left-footed shot into the roof of the net.

Young midfielder Brattan was introduced into the contest early in the second half as the Roar continued to press for goals with Postecoglou soon throwing Meyer, who scored the winner against the Jets last weekend, and Hingert into the fray as well.

The Roar continued to dominate the match but played most of the remaining 45 minutes in cruise control and were rarely tested by the Glory.

Fireworks erupted around Suncorp Stadium as Postecoglou and his team celebrated their massive achievement, with the Head Coach immensely proud of the way his players rose to the occasion.

“It was great, sometimes when opportunities come along it doesn-t always work but all forces come together today and it was a great night for the club,” he said.

“Great crowd, the boys were fantastic and scored some quality goals and tonight-s performance really epitomises the type of football club we want to be.

“Tonight the players got reward for all their hard work which is great to see.”

Brisbane Roar 4 (Besart BERISHA 23- 45-, Issey NAKAJIMA-FARRAN 33-, 41-)
Perth Glory 0
Saturday, 26 November 2011
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Jarred Gillett
Crowd: 19,339

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2. Matt SMITH (c), 3. Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Ivan FRANJIC (19. Jack HINGERT 76-), 6. Erik PAARTALU, 7. Besart BERISHA, 8. Massimo MURDOCCA (18. Luke BRATTAN 52-), 10. HENRIQUE (21. James MEYER 67-), 11. Issey NAKAJIMA-FARRAN, 16. Mohamed ADNAN, 22. Thomas BROICH

Substitutes not used: 30. Matt Acton (gk)

Yellow cards: Matt SMITH 59-, Besart BERISHA 78-

Red cards: Nil

Perth Glory: 1. Daniel VUKOVIC, 2. Josh MITCHELL, 3. Sebastian VAN DEN BRINK, 4. Billy MEHMET, 7. Jacob BURNS (c), 8. Adam HUGHES, 9. Shane SMELTZ, 15. Tommy AMPLETT (14. Steven McGARRY 46-), 17. Todd HOWARTH, 19. Joshua RISDON, 25. Trent McCLENAHAN (27. ANDREZINHO 46-)

Substitutes not used: 18. Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 30. Lewis ITALIANO (gk)

Yellow cards: Jacob BURNS 25-, Shane SMELTZ 82-

Red cards: Nil