Brisbane falls short in Parramatta


Brisbane Roar’s hopes of recording a first away win of the season, and a first win against Western Sydney Wanderers, have been dashed by a late penalty which gave the home side a 1-0 win.

Brisbane Roar-s hopes of recording a first away win of the season, and a first win against Western Sydney Wanderers, have been dashed by a late penalty which gave the home side a 1-0 win.

In trying and extremely windy conditions at Parramatta Stadium, the Roar can consider themselves unlucky not to have taken something from a game they dominated for large periods of the match.

Brisbane settled well early and had a chance to take the lead inside the first five minute when Ben Halloran played Besart Berisha in, but the Albanian-s cheeky chip was reeled in by Ante Covic in the Wanderers- goal.

Halloran had a chance himself five minutes later, but this time it was a much more regulation save for Covic as the youngster show from a tight angle.

Youssouf Hersi was first to threaten for the home side as he used the wind at his back to unleash a shot from distance which crashed into Michael Theo-s crossbar and away to safety.

Mateo Poljak employed the same tactic a short time later, this time a small deflection taking the ball wide of Theo-s goal.

Theo was finally called into action on 26 minutes when Ono created space for himself inside the box and his deflected and spinning shot was flipped around the post by the keeper-s fingertips.

Halloran then had a chance up the other end when he found himself on the end of an excellent Thomas Broich through ball, but despite this time beating Covic just rolled his effort the wrong side of the post.

The action continued unabated, with Ono flashing a free-kick just wide of the mark on the half hour mark of the contest.

Brisbane started the second half strongly, keeping the home side on the back foot early.

Erik Paartalu had the first chance of the half when he latched onto the loose ball following a Broich corner, but his well-struck shot was saved by Covic with his feet.

Brisbane continued to boss possession as the half wore on, but found the Western Sydney defensive line difficult to break down.

However, it was to prove heartbreaking for the Roar, conceding a penalty late when substitute Dino Kresinger went crashing to the ground in the box with four minutes left on the clock.

Alan Milliner pointed to the spot and Ono stepped up to claim his first Hyundai A-League goal in the most dramatic of fashions.

Brisbane refused to lie down, even with the seconds ticking away forcing Covic into a number of crucial saves while Mitch Nichols hit the cross bar and Shane Stefanutto smashed a laser-like right-footed effort onto the post from outside the box – the ball bouncing away to safety to sum up Brisbane-s luck on the afternoon.

Brisbane Roar Head Coach Rado Vidosic, while disappointed with the result, said he and his team would continue to take a positive outlook, continuing to work hard to turn results around.

“First half it was quite hard, with their long balls and against the strong wind,” Vidosic said.

“In the second half we were much better. We pushed them high and hard up front and dealt with the long balls much better.

“When you look at the clear-cut chances we probably had more.

“We just need to keep working and keep believing in ourselves…all we need to do is believe in our system and keep working hard.

“Sooner or later our luck will turn and we-re going to start winning some games.”

Western Sydney Wanderers (Ono 87- (pen))
Brisbane Roar 0
Parramatta Stadium, Parramatta
Alan Milliner
Crowd: 6755

Western Sydney Wanderers: 1. Ante Covic (GK), 2. Shannon Cole (12. Tahj Minniecon 67-), 3. Adam D-Apuzzo, 4. Nikolai Topor-Stanley, 5. Michael Beauchamp (capt), 6. Jerome Polenz, 8. Mateo Poljak, 13. Joseph Gibbs (9. Dino Kresinger 75-), 17. Youssouf Hersi, 18. Iacopo La Rocca (23. Jason Trifiro 62-), 21. Shinji Ono.

Substitutes not used: 20. Jerrard Tyson (GK).

Yellow cards: Hersi (27-), D-Apuzzo (63-)

Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael Theo (GK), 3. Shane Stefanutto (capt), 4. Matt Jurman, 6. Erik Paartalu, 7. Besart Berisha, 8. Massimo Murdocca, 10. Henrique (17. Mitch Nichols 63-), 11. Ben Halloran (21. James Meyer 88′), 15. James Donachie, 19. Jack Hingert (13. Yuji Takahashi 88′), 22. Thomas Broich.

Substitutes not used: 20. Matt Acton (GK).

Yellow cards: Stefanutto (26-), Nichols (66-), Jurman (85-), Theo (86-)

Red cards: Nil