Broich claims Gary Wilkins Medal

Thomas Broich has taken out the Gary Wilkins Medal as Brisbane Roar’s Player of the Year.

Inspirational midfielder Thomas Broich has capped off a memorable maiden season in the Hyundai A-League by claiming the coveted Gary Wilkins Player of the Year Award at Brisbane Roar-s presentation dinner, while captain Matt McKay took home two prestigious awards of his own.

Signed from German side FC Nuremberg prior to season start, Broich-s dazzling footwork, endless energy and pinpoint crosses quickly made him one of the most dangerous players in the Hyundai A-League and with six goals and 14 assists to his name, the 30-year-old is a worthy recipient of the club-s highest honour.

Local boy Matt McKay-s rise to success over the past twelve months was also rewarded as he was named as both Brisbane Roar Players- Player and Brisbane Roar Members Player of the Year after leading the side to the Hyundai A-League premiership and championship double in his first full season wearing the captain-s armband.

It-s been an outstanding year for McKay, who as well as his overwhelmingly consistent club form, cemented his position in the Qantas Socceroos starting eleven during their AFC Asian Cup campaign where the squad narrowly missed out on victory and finished the tournament credibly as runners-up.

After finding the back of the net on 12 occasions, young New Zealander Kosta Barbarouses took out the Golden Boot award while dependable defender Matt Smith was named Queensland Roars Against Racism Multicultural Ambassador.

The Roar-s hardworking Community and Events Co-ordinator Sam Escobar deservedly won Chairman-s Club Person of the Year for his unwavering commitment and loyalty to the club.

Ben Briskley and Nola Nielson were both named Spotless Brisbane Roar Volunteer of the Year and won $1000 for their efforts this season.


Hyundai A-League

Gary Wilkins Player of the Year – Thomas Broich
Brisbane Roar Players- Player – Matt McKay
Brisbane Roar Members- Player of the Year – Matt McKay
Queensland Roars Against Racism Multicultural Ambassador Award – Matt Smith
Brisbane Roar Chairman-s Club-person of the Year Award – Sam Escobar
Brisbane Roar Golden Boot Award – Kosta Barbarouses
Spotless Brisbane ROAR Volunteer of the Year Award – Ben Briskey and Nola Nielson

Westfield W-League

Player of the Year – Elise Kellond-Knight
Player-s Player of the Year – Aivi Luik

National Youth League

Player of the Year – James Donachie

Follow Brisbane Roar on Twitter

Follow Brisbane Roar on Facebook