Captain courageous takes out top honour


Brisbane Roar Women Captain Clare Polkinghorne has taken home the highest individual honour in Australian female football at Monday night’s Dolan Warren Awards in Sydney.

Club legend Polkinghorne took home her second Julie Dolan Medal, awarded to the Westfield W-League Player of the Season, following a standout campaign in the heart of the Roar defence.

Polkinghorne, who last won the award following the 2012-13 campaign, was named as joint winner alongside Westfield Matildas teammate Sam Kerr.

The inspirational leader, lauded by teammates and opponents alike as one of the finest female defenders in world football, played every minute of the Roar’s Premiership-winning campaign.

The 115-game veteran wasn’t the only Roar Woman honoured with both Head Coach Mel Andreatta and Goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold picking up awards.

Andreatta, who in her second season as Westfield W-League Head Coach, led the squad to a record-equaling third Premiership, was named as Coach of the Season.

Brisbane’s defence was hard enough to break down during Season 10, and that was before encountering goalkeeper Arnold between the posts.

A league-low 12 goals conceded and a league-high six clean sheets for the women in Orange saw our Number One take out the award.

Arnold was one of two Roar goalkeepers recognised for their heroics on the last line. Jamie Young, who in 24 appearances this season led the league for Shots to Save Percentage and frequently pulled off Save of the Week, was named as Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Season.

Young recently signed on for Hyundai A-League season 2018/19.

“On behalf of the Club, I’d like to personally congratulate all our 2017/18 award winners,” Managing Director David Pourre said.

“Well done to our Westfield W-League Head Coach Mel Andreatta, Captain Clare Polkinghorne and Goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold who have capped off a fantastic season for our Roar Women.

“Congratulations to Jamie Young on his outstanding season in goal and being recognised as the Hyundai A-League’s top goalkeeper in season 13.”