Club Captain Matt McKay re-signs


Club Captain and games record holder Matt McKay has signed a one-year contract extension with Brisbane Roar Football Club.

McKay put pen to paper to extend his contract into what will be his 11th Hyundai A-League season with Brisbane Roar.

“I am very happy and proud to be staying with the Brisbane Roar for another season. When the club approached me it was an easy decision. I’m a Brisbane boy and love the city,” McKay said.

“More importantly, I believe in the group of players we have at the Roar. From the coaching staff to the players, I can sense a real drive and hunger to succeed. I’m determined to continue building our great club and win more titles.”

A true club legend, his leadership qualities both on and off the pitch are admired throughout the playing group. 

McKay captained the Roar to the club’s inaugural Hyundai A-League Premiership and Championship in the 2010/11 season, before leading the Roar to their third title in four seasons in 2013/14.

BRFC Football Director Craig Moore praised McKay for his dedication to Brisbane and his professional attitude.

Matt McKay 16x9

“We are delighted that Matty has signed on for the 2017/18 season, he is a leader of our playing group and has a passion for Brisbane Roar.

“Matt’s performances this season have shown his hunger and desire to be successful still burns strong, he has given so much to the club.

“I think Matty has been clever deciding his future quickly which will allow him to focus on his football and play with no limits.”

He was Brisbane Roar’s inaugural Gary Wilkins medallist and has since won numerous club and competition awards including 2010-11 PFA Footballer of the Year and being named in the PFA’s Hyundai A-League Team of the Decade in 2015.

In October 2016, he became the first player to reach 200 games for Brisbane Roar and his club games record continues to grow, currently sitting at 207 matches.

His qualities on the pitch has also earned him success on the international stage with 59 caps and an Asian Cup winners medal.