Fresh faces but same high standards for Roar Women


The ninth instalment of the Westfield W-League season kicks-off on Saturday, November 5 as the Brisbane Roar look to go one better than last season.

The Roar Women’s 2016/17 squad is now complete with the additions of Tameka Butt and South-West Queensland Thunder’s Abbey Lloyd.

The Roar will open the Westfield W-League season at Newmarket’s Corporate Travel Management Stadium against Sydney FC (4pm KO QLD time).

A semi-final penalty shoot-out between eventual premiers Melbourne City and the Brisbane Roar saw the side narrowly miss the opportunity for a sixth grand final appearance.

The off-season has seen a number of changes to the side with players such as Ruth Blackburn, Gabe Marzano and Hayley Kopmeyer leaving the Roar.

However, it was not all bad news as the Roar welcome back Brooke Spence from injury and Sunny Franco from Sydney FC.

Polkinghorne 16x9

Clare Polkinghorne (above) will once again captain the side and lead Roar’s defense.

It was not only familiar faces returning to the club but new additions including Maddy Evans from Orlando Pride, Danish international Nina Frausing-Pedersen and Matildas goalkeeper, Mackenzie Arnold (below).

“I think our off-season recruits bolster our squad. We have a good balance of experience and youth,” coach Mel Andreatta said.

Just like any season, the Roar Women will aim to qualify for the Westfield W-League finals. Even with the addition of a new coach, the expectations are still the same.

After the disappointment of the semi-final defeat last season, it has spurred the team to greater heights and made them more determined to improve their performances from last season.

Arnold 16x9

Angela Beard (below) is one to watch this season and is considered one of the best young left backs in the league.

She plays a dynamic and brave type of football but can also make the switch between the defence and midfield positions.

Following the 2015-16 season in which she won Brisbane’s Player of the Year, the 2016/17 season could be her best yet.

“I think it is going to be another season that we see that has a lot of exciting moments,” said coach Mel Andreatta.

“I think it will be contested, it looks like all the teams are signing and re-signing well so let’s just hope the crowds get along and enjoy the spectacle.”

Angela Beard

The match between Brisbane Roar and Sydney FC is always a fierce battle between two of the competition’s founder clubs.

It is always a really good hit out between Brisbane and Sydney,” goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold said.

“To finally be a part of that will be a really exciting thing, so I am looking forward to it.

“It has always been a physical game between the two teams and it has a long history of being a tight affair.”

Roar Women 16x9

Brisbane Roar 2016/17 Westfield W-League squad

  • Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk)
  • Angela BEARD
  • Tameka BUTT
  • Maddy EVANS
  • Maili FORBES
  • Sunny FRANCO
  • Emily GIELNIK
  • Katrina GORRY
  • Abbey LLOYD
  • Summer O’BRIEN
  • Clare POLKINGHORNE (c)
  • Brooke SPENCE
  • Natalie TATHEM
  • Allira TOBY
  • Kaitlyn TORPEY
  • Cortnee VINE
  • Georgina WORTH (gk)

Roar Women

Brisbane Roar FC v Sydney FC

Westfield W-League Round 1

Saturday, 5 November 2016, Corporate Travel Management Stadium (4:00pm Local Time)

Venue: Spencer Park

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Nina FRAUSING-PEDERSEN, 3.Amy CHAPMAN, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Brooke SPENCE, 6.Angela BEARD, 7.Sunny FRANCO, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Maili FORBES, 12.Allira TOBY, 14.Summer O’BRIEN, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 17.Emily GIELNIK, 18.Maddy EVANS, 19.Natalie TATHEM, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk)**two to be omitted**

Unavailable: 9.Cortnee VINE (international duty – 1 week), 13.Tameka BUTT (overseas – 1 week)

Sydney FC squad: 1.Sham KAMIS (gk), 2.Teresa POLIAS (c), 3.Gabrielle MARZANO, 4.Elizabeth RALSTON, 6.Servet UZUNLAR, 7.Nicola BOLGER, 9.Caitlin FOORD, 11.Natalie TOBIN, 12.Olivia PRICE, 13.Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, 14.Alanna KENNEDY, 15.Sarah EASTHOPE (gk) 17.Kyah SIMON, 19.Leena KHAMIS, 21.Penny PETRATOS

Unavailable: 3.Remy SIEMSEN (international duty – 1 week), 16.Hannah BACON (international duty – 1 week), 20.Princess IBINI (international duty – 1 week)

Referee: Casey Reibelt Assistant Referee 1: Sarah Ho Assistant Referee 2: Renae Coghill Fourth Official: Rebecca Durcau