Goalkeeper Isabella Shuttleworth signs on

Brisbane Roar is pleased to welcome back young shot-stopper Isabella Shuttleworth on a scholarship contract for the 2023/24 Liberty A-League season.  

Shuttleworth began training with the Roar in 2021 before signing her first professional contract with the club ahead of the 2022/23 season. 

Her debut came in the home defeat against Adelaide, taking over for an injured Mia Bailey before starting the remaining 4 games. 

The 20-year-old looks forward to what the coming season holds, as we’ll see her back between the posts for an exciting season for the youngster.  

“I’m striving to get a full contract throughout the season or next year. But I’m here to support the girls and create a good competitive training environment. This is my fourth season with the Roar, and I feel each year is a progression from the last,” Shuttleworth said.  

“I’m seeing myself grow both on and off the pitch which is very exciting.” 

Shuttleworth aims to continue developing and play as many minutes as she can to secure a full contract in the future.  

“I’m very excited to get training again with the girls, I’ve really missed it. Considering I’m scholarship, I have something to prove and fight for. My main goal is to break into the match day squad at least a couple of times,” the goalkeeper said.  

“But that all starts at training so I’m going to focus on working harder each session and hopefully Garrath sees the hard work.” 

Head Coach Garrath McPherson describes Shuttleworth as having “the unique ‘team first’ mindset that is so important for goalkeepers.”  

“They play in a position that is rarely substituted, selflessness and a growth mindset are so important for young goalkeepers to progress as professionals,” he said.  

“Bella possesses these qualities and has already had more league experiences than that of her peers. She is an important part of our football club moving forward.” 

Purchase a Liberty A-League membership HERE.  

See below our Liberty A-League squad announced so far:   

21. Isabella Shuttleworth

11. Sharn Freier 

4. Kijah Stephenson   

6. Holly McQueen   

1. Keeley Richards   

19. Hollie Palmer    

22. Ruby Cuthbert    

13. Tameka Yallop   

7. Ayesha Norrie   

8. Mariel Hecher    

5. Jenna McCormick   

15. Hannah Holgersen   

9. Mia Corbin   

16. Chelsea Blissett   

23. Ashlee Brodigan   

17. Leah Scarpelli   

A reminder that the Brisbane Roar squads page is owned and updated directly by the Australia Professional Leagues. The squad page will be updated when the APL has registered players within their system. Brisbane Roar has requested squad pages for clubs to be owned in direct control by the club.