Gorry named FFA Female Footballer of the Year


Brisbane Roar’s Katrina Gorry has been named FFA Female Footballer of the Year for 2014.

Named alongside Socceroos and Crystal Palace captain Mile Jedinak who won the male equivalent, Gorry’s award comes just a month after she was named AFC Women’s Player of the Year ahead of two-time winner Aya Miyama and her Nadeshiko teammate Nahomi Kawasumi.

The player nicknamed ‘Mini’ had a big year in 2014, most notably leading the charge for the Westfield Matildas at the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in May. She scored three goals at the tournament in Vietnam, including one in the semi-final, as Australia narrowly lost the decider to Japan.

At club level, Gorry was Brisbane Roar’s leading goal-scorer in the 2013/14 season and also spent the Westfield W-League playing in the US, a part of the FC Kansas City squad that won the National Women’s Soccer League in August this year.