Ins & Outs: Experienced duo return for Roar Women


Experienced pair Katrina Gorry & Chioma Ubogagu have both been named in Mel Andreatta’s 17-player squad for Thursday night’s Westfield W-League clash away to Canberra United.

The Roar were without the duo for last week’s 3-1 victory over the Wanderers, but are set to welcome them back for their final fixture of 2018.

Both players boast international pedigree and could add experience to a Roar side already in form. The Roar Women have strung together back-to-back wins, scoring seven goals in that time, and would, at least temporarily, fill top spot with a result at McKellar Park.

Young Matildas defender Kaitlyn Torpey has also been promoted to the squad.

Brisbane won both meetings against Canberra last season, a 1-0 win away and a final round win at home that secured last season’s Premiership.

You can watch all the action LIVE on Fox Sports 505 this Thursday from 6pm.


Westfield W-League 2018/19 – Round 9: Canberra United v Brisbane Roar
McKellar Park, Canberra
Thursday, 27 December (6:30pm KO)


Goalkeepers: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD, 20.Annie GROVE

Defenders: 2.Carson PICKETT, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Jenna MCCORMICK, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 11.Natalie TATHEM, 14.Summer O’BRIEN,

Midfielders: 6.Celeste BOUREILLE, 10.Katrina GORRY, 19.Hollie PALMER

Attackers: 7.Indiah-Paige RILEY, 9.Chioma UBOGAGU, 12.Allira TOBY, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 17.Yuki NAGASATO, 22.Anna MARGRAF **two to be omitted**

Ins: 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY (promoted), 9.Chimoa UBOGAGU (promoted), 10.Katrina Gorry (returns from suspension)

Outs: 18.Leah DAVIDSON (not selected)

Unavailable: 16.Hayley RASO (back – 2-3 weeks)

Hyundai A-League Round 12: Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory, Suncorp Stadium, Sunday, 6 January (6pm KO)