Ins & Outs: Five promoted for Phoenix clash


Five players have been promoted to an 18-man squad for Saturday’s crucial Hyundai A-League clash against Wellington Phoenix in New Zealand.

The two sides clash at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium on Saturday afternoon (4:35pm KO QLD time).

Experienced duo Jack Hingert & Tobias Mikkelsen have both been promoted after missing last week’s clash against the Victory.

Young trio Shannon Brady, Joe Caletti and Dylan Wenzel-Halls will also make the trip across the ditch.

Frenchman Eric Bautheac is unavailable for the contest with a one-match suspension. 

The two teams last met back in Round 2 in a scoreless draw at Suncorp Stadium, while the Roar are undefeated in their last four trips to Wellington.


Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 9: Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday, 22 December (4:35pm KO QLD time)

Goalkeepers: 1.Brendan WHITE, 21.Jamie YOUNG

Defenders: 2.Dane INGHAM, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 19.Jack HINGERT, 24.Connor O’TOOLE,

Midfielders: 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 13.Stefan MAUK, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 7.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI

Attackers: 9.Adam TAGGART, 20.Shannon BRADY, 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 33.HENRIQUE  **two to be omitted**

Ins: 18.Joe CALETTI (promoted), 19.Jack HINGERT (promoted), 20.Shannon BRADY (promoted), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN (promoted), 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS (promoted)

Outs: 11.Eric BAUTHEAC (suspension – 1 match), 24.Connor O’Toole (not selected)

Unavailable: 10.Brett HOLMAN (knee)

Hyundai A-League Round 12: Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory, Suncorp Stadium, Sunday, 6 January (6pm KO)