Ins & Outs: Quartet in contention for debuts


Three players are in contention to make their BRFC debuts in tomorrow’s rebel Play Football Round clash against Sydney FC at Suncorp Stadium (6:50pm KO).

After joining the Roar during the January window, New recruits Charles Lokoli-Ngoy & Ruon Tongyik have been named in our 18-man squad to face the Sky Blues.

There is also two potential Hyundai A-League debut on the cards.

TICKETS: Be part of BRFC history – we’re welcoming our 2,500,000th fan

After an impressive Foxtel Y-League campaign, 16-year-old Izaack Powell has earned a spot in the matchday squad. An appearance at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night would see the defender become the youngest player to represent the Club in the Hyundai A-League, four days out from his 17th birthday.

Powell’s Young Roar teammate, goalkeeper Macklin Freke has also been promoted to his first matchday squad, just a week after a marvellous performance between the posts in last week’s Foxtel Y-League Grand Final.

In-form striker Adam Taggart is also set to go head-to-head with Sydney striker Adam Le Fondre. Both strikers have found the net 11 times this season and share top spot in the Golden Boot race.

Jamie Young, Dane Ingham & Daniel Bowles are all unavailable for selection through suspension.


Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 18: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Friday, 8 February (6:50pm KO)


Goalkeepers: 1.Brendan WHITE, 31.Macklin FREKE

Defenders: 3.Luke DEVERE, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 12.Ruon TONGYIK, 15.Stefan NIGRO, 19.Jack HINGERT, 38.Izaack POWELL

Midfielders: 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI

Attackers: 9.Adam TAGGART, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 16.Charles LOKOLI-NGOY, 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 33.HENRIQUE

Ins: 3.Luke DEVERE (promoted), 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN (promoted), 31.Macklin FREKE (gk) (promoted), 38.Izaack POWELL (promoted)
Outs: 2.Dane INGHAM (suspended), 4.Daniel BOWLES (suspended), 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk) (suspended)
Unavailable: 10.Brett HOLMAN (knee), 13.Stefan MAUK (groin), 24.Connor O’Toole (broken leg)

Hyundai A-League Round 18: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC, Suncorp Stadium, Friday, 8 February (6:50pm)