Ins & Outs: Squads confirmed for double header


We’re finishing the week with a football feast as both our Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League sides do battle in a double header against Melbourne City at AAMI Park on Friday night.

Our Roar Women return to action for the first time this year in a crucial Westfield W-League clash from 4:20pm before our Hyundai A-League side take the park in search of their maiden win of 2019 from 6:50pm (all times QLD).

Take a look below at who’s in contention to line-up for both sides at AAMI Park tomorrow night.

Young duo promoted for Roar Women

Young pair Leah Davidson & Anna Margraf have both been promoted to our 17-player squad to face Melbourne City.

Margraf is in contention for her sixth appearance in her debut Westfield W-League season having earned five starts throughout the campaign to date.

Davidson, another member of the 2018 NPLW Championship-winning BRFC NTC squad, has made two appearances off the bench. The pair are two of six teenagers in the squad alongside Annie Grove, Kaitlyn Torpey, Hollie Palmer Indiah-Paige Riley.

Central defender Jenna McCormick will also remain available for selection in the upcoming weeks.

“I’m really thankful to the Adelaide Crows for allowing me to continue to pursue my passion for both Australian Rules Football and soccer,” McCormick said.

“It’s a huge year for Women’s football in Australia and I want to give myself the best possible chance of being involved at a World Cup.”

Striker Allira Toby will also be eyeing a goal in a fourth straight game, having finished 2018 in scintillating form in front of goal.


Goalkeepers: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD, 20.Annie GROVE

Defenders: 2.Carson PICKETT, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Jenna MCCORMICK, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 11.Natalie TATHEM, 14.Summer O’BRIEN

Midfielders: 6.Celeste BOUREILLE, 18.Leah DAVIDSON, 19.Hollie PALMER

Attackers: 7.Indiah-Paige RILEY, 9.Chioma UBOGAGU, 12.Allira TOBY, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 17.Yuki NAGASATO, 2.Anna MARGRAF **two to be omitted**

Ins: 18.Leah DAVIDSON (promoted), 22.Anna MARGRAF (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 10.Katrina GORRY, (ankle – season), 16.Hayley RASO (back – 1-2 weeks)

Westfield W-League Round 12: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC, Lions Stadium, Saturday, 19 January (4pm)

Three promoted for Melbourne trip

Three players have been promoted to our Hyundai A-League 18-man squad for the second match of Friday night’s double header.

Central defender Luke DeVere is in contention for his first appearance of Season 2018/19 while fellow defender Stefan Nigro is also in the mix for his first minutes since November’s 2-0 win against Friday night’s opposition.

Danish winger Tobias Mikkelsen also returns to the squad and could make his 10th appearance of the campaign.

Daniel Bowles is unavailable with a one-match suspension.

The squad includes three teenagers in defenders Dane Ingham & Aaron Reardon and dangerous attacking weapon Dylan Wenzel-Halls while Adam Taggart will be looking to hit the back of the net for a third game running.


Goalkeepers: 1.Brendan WHITE, 21.Jamie YOUNG

Defenders: 2.Dane INGHAM, 3.Luke DEVERE, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 15.Stefan NIGRO, 19.Jack HINGERT, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 34.Aaron REARDON

Midfielders: 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 17.Matt MCKAY (c)

Attackers: 9.Adam TAGGART, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 33.HENRIQUE **two to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Luke DEVERE (promoted), 15.Stefan NIGRO (promoted), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN (promoted)
Outs: 4.Daniel Bowles (suspended – 1 match)
Unavailable: 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS (glute),10.Brett HOLMAN (knee), 13.Stefan MAUK (groin)

Hyundai A-League Round 15: Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory, Suncorp Stadium, Tuesday, 15 January (6:50pm KO)