Ins & Outs: Unchanged for Nix test


Head Coach Warren Moon has named an identical extended 20-man squad to the one he took into last Wednesday night’s 2-1 win over Melbourne Victory.

Moon has stood firm with the same 20 players for what will arguably be the Roar’s biggest test since the restart of the Hyundai A-League season up against third-placed Wellington Phoenix in Newcastle (6pm kick-off).

The two sides have split the ledger with a home win apiece this season with Dylan Wenzel-Halls securing the crucial goal in the last meeting back in January.

VIDEO: Last time we met – Wellington Phoenix
HIGHLIGHTS: Roar record crucial win over Victory

Scott McDonald enters the contest on the back of five goals in as many games in what will be his first meeting against the Nix in Roar colours.

New Zealand international & former Nix squad member Matthew Ridenton is in contention for the contest.

Team, Wenzel-Halls

Hyundai A-League 2019/20: Wellington Phoenix vs Brisbane Roar
McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle
Wednesday, 5 August (6pm kick-off)


Goalkeepers: 1.Max CROCOMBE, 21.Jamie YOUNG

Defenders: 2.Scott NEVILLE, 3.Corey BROWN, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 19.Jack HINGERT, 27.Kai TREWIN, 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS

Midfielders: 8.Danny KIM, 12.Matthew RIDENTON, 14.George MELLS, 26.Jay O’SHEA

Attackers: 7.Jai INGHAM, 10.Bradden INMAN, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 30.Mirza MURATOVIC, 77.Scott MCDONALD **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 14.George MELLS (promoted), 30.Mirza MURATOVIC (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 22.Jake MCGING (Knee)