It’s all about taking opportunities: Davies


A number of potential debuts are on the cards on Friday night when Brisbane Roar host Sydney FC at Suncorp Stadium (6:50pm KO).

It’s the Sky Blues first of two trips to Brisbane this season & also the Roar’s first trip since announcing its two latest additions acquired in the January window.

Defender Ruon Tongyik & striker Charles Lokoli-Ngoy have both been included in Darren Davies’ 18-man squad for the clash, as has two Championship-winning Young Roar players.

TICKETS: Make BRFC history – Be our 2,500,000th fan this Friday night

Goalkeeper Macklin Freke has been promoted with Jamie Young unavailable through suspension, while 16-year-old defender Izaack Powell could make BRFC history as the Club’s youngest ever player.

With a number of the Roar’s younger brigade having made their way into the side so far this season, Davies said it’s an exciting chance for the young players to grasp their opportunities.


“It’s all about opportunities & over the previous weeks, we’ve handed out debuts to a number of our youngsters,” Davies said.

“Our two new additions [Tongyik & Lokoli-Ngoy] are both young, Australian players & we look forward to giving them an opportunity.”

Goalkeeper Brendan White is also in line for his first Hyundai A-League start, after a tough initiation off the bench in Adelaide last round.

“It was a tough initiation for him, but he will only be better for it,” Davies continued.

The two sides last met in the Roar’s last game of 2018, going down in a narrow 2-1 loss in a brave performance at Jubilee Stadium.

Davies believes his side was desperately unlucky to leave empty handed following that contest & says they’ll be looking to bounce back on home soil.


“They’re a good side and they come here with confidence. They had a good result last week, but we’ll focus on our game and how we can break them down and win the game,” Davies added.

“We’ll be going in to tomorrow night knowing we should have taken something from that game & looking to go one step better.

“We’ve had a look at a number of options – both personnel and formation. Whatever formation & personnel we play with, we’ll do our best to go out there and win the game.” 


Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 18: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Friday, 8 February (6:50pm KO)



Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Brendan WHITE (gk), 3.Luke DEVERE, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Adam TAGGART, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 12.Ruon TONGYIK, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 15.Stefan NIGRO, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Jack HINGERT, 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 26.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO, 31.Macklin FREKE (gk), 33.HENRIQUE, 38.Izaack POWELL **two to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Luke DEVERE (promoted), 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN (promoted), 12.Ruon TONGYIK (new signing), 26.Nicolas D’AGOSTINO (promoted), 31.Macklin FREKE (gk) (promoted), 38.Izaack POWELL (promoted)
Outs: 2.Dane INGHAM (suspended), 4.Daniel BOWLES (suspended), 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk) (suspended), 26.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO (not selected)
Unavailable: 10.Brett HOLMAN (knee), 13.Stefan MAUK (groin), 24.Connor O’Toole (broken leg)

Sydney FC squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Aaron CALVER, 3.Ben WARLAND, 4.Alex WILKINSON, 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Daniel DE SILVA, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c), 16. Reza GHOOCHANNEJHAD, 17.Anthony CACERES,  20.Alex CISAK (gk), 21. Mitch AUSTIN, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 31.Luke IVANOVIC **two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Michael ZULLO (return from suspension), 14.Alex BROSQUE (return from injury), 16. Reza GHOOCHANNEJHAD (new signing), 17.Anthony CACERES (return from injury).
Outs: 5. Jop van der LINDEN (not selected), 24. Cam DEVLIN (not selected).
Unavailable: 12.Trent BUHAGIAR (ACL – indefinite), 22.Siem DE JONG (knee – 2 weeks), 19.Chris ZUVELA (knee – indefinite)

Referee: Jonathan Barreiro
Assistant Referee 1: David Walsh
Assistant Referee 2: Nathan MacDonald
Fourth Official: Jarred Gillett
VAR: Kris Griffiths-Jones

Hyundai A-League Round 18: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC, Suncorp Stadium, Friday, 8 February (6:50pm)