MATCH REPORT | Berisha strike seals Glory


A second half strike from striker Besart Berisha has given Brisbane Roar a hard-fought 1-0 victory over Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium.

A second half strike from striker Besart Berisha has given Brisbane Roar a hard-fought 1-0 victory over Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium.

Berisha-s 57th minute goal was the difference as the home side-s patience and dominance on the night paid off with the result keeping the Roar on top of the Hyundai A-League ladder.

Brisbane were without regular goalkeeper Michael Theo who had succumbed to a shoulder injury meaning 21-year-old Matt Acton made his debut between the posts as the club-s 100th Hyundai A-League player.

Brazilian speedster Henrique provided the first warning sign with two early shots on goal before Thomas Broich unleashed from the edge of the area, forcing a catch from Glory custodian Danny Vukovic.

Besart Berisha went close from a corner in the 38th minute, his first touch setting up a sweet volley that Vukovic again had to grab with both hands.

Perth finished the stronger of the two sides in the opening 45 minute period, almost sneaking the lead through a Michael Thwaite header that Luke Brattan cleared off the line in first half stoppage time.

The Roar were even more dominant in the second half and received dividends from their strong performance through Berisha-s 57th minute goal.

Receiving a pass from Broich in the penalty area, Berisha shimmied past the challenge of Steve Pantaledis and slotted past Vukovic for what was his 38th goal in 60 appearances for the club.

“There-s no easy game in the A-League,” Head Coach Mike Mulvey said in the post-match press conference.

“It-s our home ground and we have to make the running. They came with a plan and a way that they wanted to play and we had to break them down.

“You only need one goal to win this game and I was exceptionally pleased with the defensive performance.

“We were alert, we were resolute and absolutely delighted for Matty Acton, who makes his debut and keeps a clean sheet.”

Brisbane Roar 1 (Besart BERISHA 57-)
Perth Glory 0
Saturday, 30 November 2013
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Referee: Tim McGilchrist
Crowd: 12,308

Brisbane Roar: 2. Matthew SMITH (c), 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 7. Besart BERISHA (29. Kwame YEBOAH 71-), 10. HENRIQUE (23. Dimitri PETRATOS 80-), 15.James DONACHIE, 17. Matt McKAY, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 19. Jack HINGERT, 20.Matthew ACTON (gk), 22. Thomas BROICH, 26. Corey BROWN

Substitutes not used: 14.Diogo FERREIRA, 28. Brandon BORRELLO, 33. Fraser CHALMERS (gk)

Yellow cards: Matt McKAY 39-, Besart BERISHA 45+3-, Corey BROWN 50-

Red cards: Nil

Perth Glory: 1. Daniel VUKOVIC (gk), 2. Jack CLISBY (25. Riley WOODCOCK 77-), 4. Ryan EDWARDS, 5. Steve PANTALEDIS, 6. Cameron EDWARDS, 8. Ryo NAGAI, 9. Shane SMELTZ (17. Chris HAROLD 35-), 10. Jamie MACLAREN, 14. Steven McGARRY, 16. SIDNEI Sciola Moraes, 23. Michael THWAITE

Substitutes not used: 3. Brandon O-NEILL, 18. Jack DUNCAN (gk), 24. Matthew DAVIES,

Yellow cards: Ryan EDWARDS 33-, Jack CLISBY 40-, Steve PANTELDIS 85-

Red cards: Nil