MATCH REPORT | Roar extend lead


Brisbane Roar has extended their lead at the top of the Hyundai A-League ladder to 10 points following today’s 2-1 win over Adelaide United at Suncorp Stadium.

Brisbane Roar has extended their lead at the top of the Hyundai A-League ladder to 10 points following today-s 2-1 win over Adelaide United at Suncorp Stadium.

A goal to Besart Berisha either side of the break put Brisbane in front before Adelaide-s Argentinian import Jeronimo Neumann cut the deficit with a volley from the edge of the penalty area in second half stoppage time.

The Reds started the stronger of the two sides and showed their intent as soon as thewhistle blew but the Roar gradually worked themselves into the contest and opened the scoring in the 22nd minute.

Dimitri Petratos found Matt McKay with a clever switch, the returning Socceroo playing the ball neatly across goal to allow Berisha to tap home from inside the six yard box.

Brisbane playmaker Thomas Broich could – and should – have made it 2-0 just before the interval but his sweet strike that hit the crossbar and bounced downwards was deemed a no-goal despite replays showing otherwise.

In the 51st minute, the Roar did extend their lead to two goals, thanks to a wonderfully struck shot from Berisha after he was teed up by Broich outside the area.

Jeronimo-s 93rd minute volley was the only blip as Mike Mulvey-s side secured the three points and now sit 10 points ahead of second-placed Western Sydney Wanderers.

“Five games to go, plus finals, winning at home – it-s a good habit to get into,” Mulvey said in the post-match press conference.

Sydney FC, fresh from winning the Sydney derby, is next on the Roar-s radar this Friday, 14 March at Allianz Stadium with three home matches at Suncorp Stadium also still to come.

Brisbane Roar 2 (Besart BERISHA 22-,51-)
Adelaide United 1 (Jeronimo NEUMANN 90+3-)
Sunday, 9 March 2014
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
4pm local time
Referee: Shaun Evans
Crowd: 12,514

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEO (gk), 2. Matthew SMITH (c), 3. Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Ivan FRANJIC (19. Jack HINGERT 46-), 7. Besart BERISHA, 11. Liam MILLER (8. Steven LUSTICA 78-), 13. Jade NORTH (26. Corey BROWN 59-), 17. Matthew McKAY, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Dimiti PETRATOS

Substitutes not used: , 10. HENRIQUE, 20. Matthew ACTON (gk)

Yellow Cards: Luke BRATTAN 30-

Red Cards: Nil

Adelaide United: 1. Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk/c), 3. Nigel BOOGAARD, 4. Jonathan McKAIN, 5. Osama MALIK, 7. Jeronimo NEUMANN, 8. ISAIS, 9. Sergio CIRIO, 14. Cameron WATSON (10. Marcelo CARRUSCA 46-), 18. Michael ZULLO, 21. Tarek ELRICH (2. Michael MARRONE 63-), 22. Fabio FERREIRA (17. Awer MABIL 63-)

Substitutes not used: 20. Paul IZZO (gk), 23. Jordan ELSEY

Yellow Cards: Cameron WATSON 36-, Fabio FERREIRA 40-, Jonathan McKAIN 61-

Red Cards: Nil