MATCH REPORT | Roar rampant in Suncorp Stadium return


Brisbane Roar has opened their 2013/14 home campaign with a bang – running out convincing 4-0 winners over Sydney FC at Suncorp Stadium tonight.

Brisbane Roar has opened their 2013/14 home campaign with a bang – running out convincing 4-0 winners over Sydney FC at Suncorp Stadium tonight.

Even with star striker Besart Berisha substituted off injured early, Brisbane were dominant in their return to Suncorp Stadium which included three goals in seven minutes.

Both sides were dealt early blows as both Berisha (back) and Sydney skipper Alessandro Del Piero (calf) limped off with injuries before the half hour mark.

But Brisbane, boosted by the return of former skipper Matt McKay – his first match at Suncorp Stadium since the victorious 2011 Hyundai A-League Grand Final – were ruthless in their attack with Henrique in particular unlucky not to grab at least a hat-trick against the Sky Blues.

Just over ten minutes after Berisha-s departure, captain Matt Smith scored just his third Hyundai A-League goal finishing off a trademark training ground move with Thomas Broich.

As the German playmaker delivered a precise free-kick into the penalty area, Smith jumped highest to head Brisbane into a 1-0 lead.

Substitute Henrique doubled the home side-s lead shortly after, the ball falling to him from an Ivan Franjic header across goal as the Sky Blues failed to clear their lines.

Both of the Roar-s central defenders were on the scoresheet by half-time as McKay provided Jade North with a through ball that just needed one touch to find the back of the net.

Sydney shotstopper Vedran Janjetovic was busy after the half-time break and kept his side in the match on a number of occasions – in particular, with a scooping save to deny Henrique a second after skipper Smith forced a spill.

Broich put the icing on the cake for Brisbane ten minutes from full time, finding space inside the box to finish off a great run from Franjic down the right wing.

The Roar now face Melbourne Victory next Friday night at Etihad Stadium before Melbourne Heart back at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday, 3 November.

Brisbane Roar 4 (Matt SMITH 37-, HENRIQUE 38-, Jade NORTH 44-, Thomas BROICH 80-)
Sydney FC 0
Saturday, 19 October 2013
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
6.45pm local (7:45pm AEDT)
Referee: Peter Green

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEO (gk), 2. Matthew SMITH (c), 3. Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 7. Besart BERISHA (10. HENRIQUE 26-), 11. Liam MILLER, 13. Jade NORTH, 17. Matt McKAY (23. Dimitri PETRATOS 80-), 18. Luke BRATTAN (26. Corey BROWN 76-), 19. Jack HINGERT, 22. Thomas BROICH

Substitutes not used: 15. James DONACHIE, 20. Matthew ACTON,

Yellow cards: Jack HINGERT 18-

Red cards: Nil

Sydney FC: 2. Seb RYALL, 3. Mark WARREN, 6. Nikola PETKOVIC, 8. Predrag BOJIC (14. Mitchell MALLIA 71-), 10. Alessandro DEL PIERO (c) (7. Brett EMERTON 32-), 11. Richard GARCIA, 16. Joel CHIANESE, 19. Nicky CARLE, 20. Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 22. Ali ABBAS, 28. Matt THOMPSON (23. Rhyan GRANT 46-)

Substitutes not used: 1. Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 5. Matt JURMAN

Yellow cards: Marc WARREN 15-, Ali ABBAS 36-

Red cards: Nil