McKay boost has Roar ready for Reds


The Brisbane Roar Starting XI may be slightly different this week but the squad’s high expectations will be unchanged when they take on Adelaide United in Round 16 of the Hyundai A-League at Suncorp Stadium on Friday (7pm kick off).

“We want to win,” Roar Head Coach John Aloisi said.

“Training this week has been good. We are playing at Suncorp in front our fans that we know we are going to get great support from. It is not an easy place to visit.

“They (Adelaide United, who have not lost in seven games) are in good form, so were Melbourne City when they came here a month ago (and the Roar won 3-1). We’re expecting a good entertaining game.”

Aloisi has made changes to his preliminary squad.

Defender Shane Stefanutto is serving a one-match yellow cards suspension; striker Jean Carlos Solorzano is out with a thigh muscle injury sustained at training this week; and the Olyroos trio – Jamie Maclaren, James Donachie and Brandon Borrello – will not return in time to be considered for tomorrow night’s match.

Former Youth team players Nick D’Agostino (below) and Devante Clut and experienced defender Jerome Polenz were included in a 17-strong squad named today, as was young leftback Corey Brown who sat on the bench last week.

Nick D'Agostino

Aloisi says the players who come into the Starting XI, or play off the bench, will maintain the high standards set by the Roar in the first half of the season.

“We have practised with a few variations,” he said without revealing the likely make up of his side tomorrow.

“It doesn’t change too much because our structures are pretty much the same whoever plays and the ones who do go in will know their jobs and roles.”

One boost to come out of this morning’s final training session was the all-clear for captain Matt McKay, who was substituted last Friday with a gluteal muscle strain. He revealed he had played in pain in the 4-0 loss to Victory.

“That’s gone now, I’ve had a couple of days rest and it has done wonders,” McKay said.

“It hasn’t hurt the last couple of days so I’m confident going in (to tomorrow’s match) that I will last 90 minutes.”


McKay admitted it was tough to lose experienced players such as Stefanutto and Solorzano but backed the depth of the squad to cover their absences.

“Everyone will be called upon and they will do a job,” he said.

The Roar No.17 also predicted the side’s two-game run without scoring would end.

“We’ll find the net, no doubt about that,” McKay said.

“We’ve got dangerous players throughout the park, our set pieces are good, our open play is good.

“We’ve got confidence in the squad, we’ve got a great team.”

Roar fans

The Roar hopes to pass the two million mark for home attendances tomorrow night but needs a crowd in excess of 19,000.

Everyone in the ground will be eligible for prizes if the milestone is passed. These include a $6000 Tag Heuer timepiece, a Samsung Galaxy S6 smartphone from Telstra and lunch with Aloisi and several Roar players.

To book your seats for the match click here .

The match also will see the launch of the Roar’s new Match Day Community Partner Program. Surf Life Saving Queensland is the first organisation to be involved.

Lifesavers will take a collection prior to kick off with funds raised to help surf lifesaving activities across the state. They will also supervise a half-time relay between Roar and Reds fans.

Dimitri Petratos

Hyundai A-League Round 16 – Brisbane Roar FC vs Adelaide United, Friday, 22 January, Suncorp Stadium (7pm KO Qld time)

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Michael THEO (gk), 5.Corey BROWN, 6.Jerome POLENZ, 7.CORONA, 8.Steven LUSTICA, 10.HENRIQUE, 13.Jade NORTH, 14.Daniel BOWLES, 16.Devante CLUT, 17.Matt McKAY (c), 18.Javier HERVAS, 19.Jack HINGERT, 20.Shannon BRADY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Thomas BROICH, 23.Dimitri PETRATOS, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO  **one to be omitted**

Ins: 6.Jerome POLENZ, 16.Devante CLUT, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO (all promoted)

Outs: 3.Shane STEFANUTTO (suspended – 1 match), 11.Jean Carlos SOLORZANO (thigh – to be determined)

Unavailable: 9.Jamie MACLAREN, 15.James DONACHIE, 29.Brandon BORRELLO (all Olyroos duty)


Adelaide United squad: 1.Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk) (c), 3.Iacopo LA ROCCA, 4.Dylan McGOWAN, 5.Osama MALIK, 7.PABLO SANCHEZ, 8.ISAIAS, 10.Marcelo CARRUSCA, 11.Bruce DJITE, 14.George MELLS, 15.Ben Warland, 16.Craig GOODWIN, 17.Mate DUGANDZIC, 19.Eli BABALJ, 21.Tarek ELRICH, 23.Jordan ELSEY, 24.Bruce KAMAU, 25.Ruon TONGYIK, 30.Daniel MARGUSH (gk) **two to be omitted**

Referee: Jarred Gillett; Assistant Referee 1: David Walsh; Assistant Referee 2: Anton Shchetinin; Fourth Official: Alex King

TV: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7.30pm (AEDT), SBS TWO from 7:30pm AEDT and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio: 612 ABC Brisbane, 891 ABC Adelaide, ABC Local Radio Qld & SA, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live. Crocmedia A-League Live (www.facebook.com/A-leagueLIVERadio)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #BRIvADL

life savers graphic