No bore in 4-4 Roar Youth draw

A last second goal from Josh McVey has secured an unlikely point for Brisbane Roar Youth at Hindmarsh Stadium with a 4-4 draw against Adelaide United.

A last second goal from Josh McVey has secured an unlikely point for Brisbane Roar Youth at Hindmarsh Stadium with a 4-4 draw against Adelaide United.

Having trailed 3-0 at the start of the second half and been outplayed for much of the contest, the Roar youngsters dug deep to secure the draw with the last kick of the match.

Brisbane went behind early to a quality strike from Joseph Wright, who lashed a loose ball into the bottom of the net from 20m after the away side failed to clear the danger.

Tim Smits looked to level things immediately when he forced his way past the Adelaide defence to reach a through ball, but he couldn-t beat an onrushing Mark Birighitti.

Adelaide were heaping pressure on the young Roar defence, but for the most part the back four held firm against a constant wave of Reds attacking play.

The pressure finally told for the home side when Brett Rayner extended the lead after he beat Matt Acton to a cross from the right to toe-poke the ball into the net.

A well-worked move between Isaka Cernak and Stefan Vrbesic down the Roar right nearly opened up the Adelaide defence with only a last-ditch clearance stopping the latter-s cross finding Smits in the box unmarked.

Acton then came to Brisbane-s rescue when Francesco Monterosso was free on goal, but the Roar custodian was able to clear the Adelaide striker-s shot with his foot.

Brisbane almost had a fortuitous lifeline into the match when a miss hit Luke Brattan shot fell to an unmarked Smits in the box but the strkier-s touch let him down and the Reds cleared the danger.

Roar-s goalkeeper was again keeping his side in touch with the hosts, this time denying Evan Kostopolous with his feet just before the break.

Just over a minute after the restart Brisbane were further behind when Kostopolous broke into the box and this time beat Acton to extend the lead.

Seconds after the restart Smits had an opportunity to put Brisbane back into the contest but stretching for an Alistair Quinn cross his effort hit the post.

The second half followed the pattern of the first with Brisbane having to absorb an enormous amount of pressure from Adelaide.

Against the run of play Brisbane did get on the scoresheet courtesy of McVey – who returned to the side after an injury lay-off.

Smits won a free-kick in the attacking third and McVey rose for the header, the ball coming off his back and into the net.

The goal appeared to be scant consolation in the match as Brisbane conceded a minute later when they lost possession in the midfield leaving Kristian Sarkies to pick out an unmarked Monterosso on the edge of the box and he slotted comfortably past Acton.

The goals were coming thick and fast, this time Luke Brattan curling a free-kick from the edge of the box into the top corner.

A short time later Brattan again had goalkeeper Codey Larkin scrambling from a free-kick, but his effort struck the corner of the bar and the post.

Matthew Byrne was next to test Larkin out as the Roar began to control the contest in the final 20 minutes, the defender stinging Larkin-s hand with a rasping volley.

On the stroke of full time Brattan had the ball in the back of the net again from a free-kick, following a slight deflection off the wall.

McVey was then on hand with the seconds ticking away to tap home the equaliser after Adelaide failed to clear another Brattan free-kick despite knocking the ball off the line twice in the scramble.

,b>Saturday 6 February 2010
Adelaide United 4 (Joseph Wright 5-, Brett Rayner 26-, Evan Kostopolous 47-, Francesco Monterosso 64-)
Brisbane Roar 4 (Josh McVey 63-, 90-+4, Luke Brattan 66-, 90-+1)
Hindmarsh Stadium
Referee: Lucien Laverdure

Adelaide United Youth squad: 40. Mark BIRIGHITTI (GK) (20. Codey LARKIN (GK) 54-), 3. Michael DOYLE, 4. Dane MILOVANOVIC (Capt.), 5. Inseob SHIN (OA) (7. Joel ALLWRIGHT 50-), 6. Alex SUNASKY, 8. Kristian SARKIES (OA), 9. Evan KOSTOPOLOUS, 11. Perry MITRIS, 14. Brett RAYNER (16. Kingsley FRANCIS 46-), 15. Francesco MONTEROSSO, 17. Joseph WRIGHT (10. Andrew CIARLA 57-).

Substitutes not used: Nil

Yellow cards: 15. Francesco MONTEROSSO (28-)

Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar Youth squad: 1. Matt ACTON (GK), 2. Matthew BYRNE, 3. Alistair QUINN, 4. Michael RYAN, 5. Isaka CERNAK, 6. Matt MUNDY (OA) (11. Josh McVEY 46-), 7. Luke BRATTAN (Capt.), 8. Tim SMITS (OA), 9. Tyler THURTELL, 10. Stefan VRBESIC (15. Antony SCHIAVO 46-), 12. Ken DOUGALL.

Substitutes not used: 20. Luke MUIR (GK).

Yellow cards: Nil

Red cards: Nil