By the numbers: Roar v Glory


A new-look Brisbane Roar side face their first test of the new Hyundai A-League season this weekend when they head to HBF Park to take on Perth Glory in their opening match of the new campaign.

Head Coach Robbie Fowler will take charge of his first Hyundai A-League match which comes against one of his former clubs.

We’ve enjoyed plenty of fiery clashes against the Glory over the years, take a look at what the numbers say ahead of Sunday’s meeting.

TEAM NEWS: Ten in contention to debut
READ: Neville ready for testing return to Perth
JOIN NOW: Become a BRFC 2019/20 Member



Overall: Roar wins: 22, Glory wins: 12, draws: 9
In Perth: Roar wins: 9, Glory wins: 8, draws: 5

  • The Roar have the better of the head-to-head between the sides (22 wins to 12), scoring 81 goals to Perth’s 64. Brisbane also have the wood in meeting out west (nine wins to eight).
  • An average of 3.37 goals have been score in clashes between the two sides.
  • The Roar & Glory have twice met in the opening round of the Hyundai A-League season, taking a win apiece.
  • The Roar’s biggest ever win over Perth Glory was a 4-0 victory in 2011 in what was a history-making 36th match without defeat.



Ten players are in line to make their BRFC Hyundai A-League debut on Sunday night. Aside from the Club’s first ever Hyundai A-League match, the record for Brisbane Roar debutants in a single match is seven in Round One of the 2006/07 season, also against Perth Glory.


Roy O’Donovan has scored six Hyundai A-League goals against Perth Glory, his joint-most against any team in the competition (also against Central Coast).


Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Round 1: Perth Glory v Brisbane Roar
HBF Park, Perth
Sunday, 13 October (5pm KO QLD time)


Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 4.Gregory WUTHRICH, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 12.Kim SOO-BEOM 13.Osama MALIK, 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO (c), 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 27.JUANDE, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY **2-4 to be omitted**

 Unavailable: 5.Ivan FRANJIC (suspended – 1 week)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 7.Jai INGHAM, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Roy O’DONOVAN, 10.Bradden INMAN, 12.Aiden O’NEILL, 13.Stefan MAUK, 15.Aaron REARDON, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Jake MCGING, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA **two to be omitted**

Unavailable: Nil

Referee: Shaun Evans
Assistant Referee 1: Josh Mannella
Assistant Referee 2: Arvin Shanmuganathan
Fourth Official: Adam Fielding
VAR: Chris Beath

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 6:00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 7 (New Zealand), Kayo Sports (www.kayosports.com.au) and MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.