Plenty to cheer for Roar fans


The good news just keeps on coming for Brisbane Roar and the club’s players and fans.

As Brisbane chases a record-equalling fifth consecutive Hyundai A-League win when they travel to Wellington on Sunday (4pm kick off), there has been recognition for Roar players on numerous fronts.

We have three players with the Olyroos now in camp in Dubai ahead of the AFC under-23 Championships and Olympic qualifiers – Jamie Maclaren, Brandon Borrello and James Donachie.

And this week no fewer than FIVE Brisbane Roar Women players were invited to the latest Westfield Matildas training camp as they prepare for their Olympic qualifiers in Japan in February-March.

Clare Polkinghorne, Tameka Butt and Katrina Gorry have been in the squad through but it was a real bonus see striker Emily Gielnik and young left back Angela Beard called up this week.

The news is a great boost for Roar Women Coach Belinda Wilson and her squad as they prepare for a must-win game against Melbourne Victory at Broadbeach on Sunday (2.30pm kick off) as they continue their late charge into the finals.

And the accolades for Roar players continued today.

Jamie Maclaren

Maclaren and Gorry were named as the December nominees for the PFA’s Player of the Month award in the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League respectfully.

The Roar Powerchair team has also made a strong start to the inaugural national championships in Sydney this week including a 3-0 win today over Western Sydney Wanderers to retain the Foundation Cup.

Their efforts have qualified them for the Final to be played on Friday against Central Coast at the State Sports Centre at Homebush (12.45pm KO).  

Roar fans

The great start to the week follows the Roar hugely successful Kids Go Free promotion last weekend that saw 17,696 fans – a season-high – turn out to cheer us to a 2-1 win over Perth Glory.

After Wellington this weekend we are away to reigning Champions Melbourne Victory then return to Suncorp Stadium on Friday, 22 January to take on the improving Adelaide United (7pm kick off).

Too secure your seats to that match, click here