Roar ready for Reds test


Our Hyundai-League side is looking to build on last week’s stunning fight back when they face Adelaide United at Coopers Stadium on Saturday night (6:50pm KO).

Stoppage time goals from Tobias Mikkelsen and Adam Taggart saw Roar overturn a two-goal deficit to secure a well-earned draw against the Wanderers in front of a boisterous home crowd at Suncorp Stadium last Friday night.

JOIN NOW: Become a two-game BRFC Member

EXCLUSIVE OFFER: Football Brisbane kids go FREE

Interim Head Coach Darren Davies was delighted with the character shown by his chargers and believes last Friday’s performance will serve as a catalyst for his side as they look to surge up the Hyundai A-League ladder.

“The boys showed tremendous fighting spirit, I think actions speak louder than words and that last five minutes at 2-0 down showed to everybody that the group is together,” Davies said post-training on Thursday.

“We’ve got fighting spirit and we’re not going to give up.”


The Roar will be looking to take off where they left off as they go in search of a maiden win for 2019.

“I look at every game in isolation and every game we want to get three points,” Davies added.

“That’s our aim and if we continue to concentrate on performing well on a game by game basis then it’s only natural we will climb the ladder.”

Roar are further boosted by the return of experienced quartet, Eric Bautheac, Matt Mckay, Thomas Kristensen and Jacob Pepper for Saturday’s clash.

Davies said his side are looking forward to the challenge posed by Adelaide as they head to Coopers Stadium for a second time this season.

“We’ve got some fresh bodies coming back into the side, we’ve had a good training week, we’ll have a look at the team and pick a side to go win the game.”

“It’s always a tough game down there, it’s a good atmosphere and we’re looking forward to it,” Davies concluded.



Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 17: Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar
Coopers Stadium, Adelaide
Saturday, February 2 (6:50pm KO)


Adelaide United squad: 1.Daniel MARGUŠ (gk), 2.Michael MARRONE, 3.Scott GALLOWAY, 4.Ryan STRAIN, 6.Vince LIA, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Isaías SÁNCHEZ (c), 10.Ken ILSØ, 11.Craig GOODWIN, 14.George BLACKWOOD, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN, 23.Jordan ELSEY, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 31.Mirko BOLAND, 32.Carlo ARMIENTO **two to be omitted**

Ins: 31.Mirko BOLAND (promoted), 32.Carlo ARMIENTO (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 9.Baba DIAWARA (knee), 18.Lachlan BROOK (knee)

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Brendan WHITE (gk), 2.Dane INGHAM, 3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Adam TAGGART, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 15.Stefan NIGRO, 17.Matt MCKAY ©, 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Jack HINGERT, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 26.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO, 33.HENRIQUE **two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN (promoted), 8.Jacob PEPPER (returns from suspension), 11.Eric BAUTHEAC (returns from suspension), 17.Matt MCKAY (returns from suspension)
Outs: 24.Connor O’Toole (broken leg), 35.Jay BARNETT (not selected)
Unavailable: 10.Brett HOLMAN (knee), 13.Stefan MAUK (groin)

Brisbane Roar Round 18