Preview: Roar v Phoenix


Defender Jacob Pepper says the Roar have to take the challenge to the Phoenix in tomorrow night’s Hyundai A-League clash at Suncorp Stadium.

The two sides meet for the third & final time in Season 2018/19 tomorrow night in a game that begins a run of three straight home fixtures for Brisbane.

Pepper, who has played all but a handful of games this season in the Roar’s defence, says the Roar will have to be wary of the Phoenix’s attacking threats, but are more than capable of earning the win.

“We have to take it to them, especially being at home. They have a bit of pace up front that we have to be wary off but we’ll be doing everything we can to get the three points,” Pepper said.

With a number of young talents included in the 18-man squad for Friday night’s clash, an opportunity to show their talents beckons for all involved in Roar orange.

“The young boys we have here are fantastic & it’s a good opportunity for some of them to showcase what they’ve got,” Pepper continued.


“Brisbane Roar has a bright future so hopefully they can put on a show & show the coaches what they’re about.”

The Phoenix took the points the last time the sides met late in 2018, but enter the contest on the back of a 3-1 defeat in their last outing against Adelaide United.

The visitors will have joint-leading goal scorer Roy Krishna in their side on Friday night, but the Roar squad are squarely focused on putting on a show for their home fans.

“With three home games to go, we want to get three wins & give the fans something to cheer about at the back end of the season,” Pepper concluded.

“As soon as we step over the line, as professional athletes, we’re only concerned about winning.

“A lot of teams have struggled to play against us at Suncorp Stadium so hopefully the crowd can rally behind us.”



Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 25: Brisbane Roar v Wellington Phoenix
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Friday, 12 April (7:50pm KO)

Brisbane Roar FC Squad: 1.Brendan WHITE (gk), 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 15.Stefan NIGRO, 16.Charles LOKOLI-NGOY, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk),  22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 26.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO, 32.Zachary DUNCAN, 34.Aaron REARDON, 36.Daniel LECK, 38.Izaack POWELL, 92.Eli BABALJ

Ins: 16.Charles LOKOLI-NGOY (promoted), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN (promoted), 38.Izaack POWELL (promoted), 34.Aaron REARDON (promoted)

Outs: 12.Ruon TONGYIK (hamstring), 33.HENRIQUE (groin)

Unavailable: 2.Dane INGHAM (foot), 4.Daniel BOWLES (knee), 10.Brett HOLMAN (knee), 13.Stefan MAUK (groin), 19.Jack HINGERT (knee), 24.Connor O’TOOLE (broken leg)