Preview: Roar Women v Victory


A rescheduled kick-off time won’t affect our Roar Women in their mission for three straight Westfield W-League victories on Saturday morning in Melbourne.

Forecasted extreme heat in Melbourne on Friday evening forced the Roar’s date with the Victory to be pushed back to Saturday morning (9:30am KO QLD time).

It will be the second meeting between the two sides who last met back in Round 2 at Dolphin Stadium. A slow start proved decisive for the Roar on that occasion, with the women in orange unable to recover from an early 2-0 deficit.

Since then, Jake Goodship’s side has registered their first away win, knocking off Canberra United in the nation’s capital, before returning home to Queensland last weekend and notching their second victory of the campaign.

It was the Roar’s fast start last weekend that had them in the box seat for the majority of the clash with Adelaide United, with Indiah-Paige Riley & Hayley Raso’s early goals handing the Roar a lead which they held for all but 10 minutes of the contest.

The Roar Women are also eyeing their first clean sheet of the 2019/20 season and are faced with the task of keeping out Victory striker Natasha Dowie. The English striker bagged a hat-trick when the two sides met back in Round 2.

The Roar head in to the contest sitting in fifth spot knowing a win would send them into the top four for at least 24 hours. The Victory are winless since that meeting in Redcliffe a month again & will be desperate for another to keep in touch with the top sides. 



Westfield W-League 2019/20 Round 6: Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar
Epping Stadium, Melbourne
Saturday, 21 December (9:30am KO)

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Casey DUMONT (gk), 2.Rosie SUTTON, 3.Teigen ALLEN, 4.Emily MENGES, 6.Haley HANSON, 7.Emma ROBERS, 8.Angie BEARD, 9.Natasha DOWIE (c), 10.Jenna McCORMICK, 11.Darian JENKINS, 13.Polly DORAN, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Amy JACKSON, 16.Annalie LONGO, 18.Grace MAHER, 19.Lia PRIVITELLI, 30.Teagan MICAH (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Emma ROBERS (promoted), 13.Polly DORAN (promoted), 30.Teagan MICAH (promoted)
Outs: 20.Melissa MAIZELS (omitted)
Unavailable: 5.Laura BROCK (foot), 17.Alex GUMMER (quad)

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Carson PICKETT, 3.Celeste BOUREILLE, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 7.Indiah-Paige RILEY, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 9.Rylee BAISDEN, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Natalie TATHEM ,12.Allira TOBY, 13.Tameka YALLOP, 15.Claire FARRINGTON, 16.Hayley RASO, 18.Leah DAVIDSON, 19.Hollie PALMER, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk), 23.Isobel DALTON **two to be omitted**

Ins: 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY (promoted), 18.Leah DAVIDSON (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 6.Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT (hamstring – TBC)