Remaining Hyundai A-League 2019/20 fixtures released


Football Federation Australia (FFA) today released the schedule of matches for the remainder of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season.

The revised regular season schedule will feature 27 matches to be played in 28 days starting Thursday, 16 July followed by a five-game Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series, with matches to feature across FOX SPORTS, SKY Sport (NZ), ABC TV, Kayo Sports and MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.

Brisbane Roar will host its final home Queensland-based fixture of the regular season at Robina’s CBUS Super Stadium against Adelaide United on Sunday, 19 July (7:30pm KO).

The Roar will then play their remaining three regular season fixtures in Sydney, facing Melbourne Victory (Tuesday, 28 July) & Wellington Phoenix (Wednesday, 5 August) at Bankwest Stadium & Sydney FC on Monday, 10 August at ANZ Stadium.

Noting recent changes to COVID-19 restrictions in Queensland, despite the Club’s desire to host its final two home games in Queensland, we worked tirelessly with FFA to ensure at least one fixture would be held in the Sunshine State.


FFA’s Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, is eagerly looking forward to seeing the Hyundai A-League start-up again after its forced break due to COVID-19.

“Over the past 3 months all stakeholders have been working hard together with one goal in mind – To finish what we started.”

“We know the COVID-19 environment has been very difficult for many people in our community and we hope that delivering an extravaganza of matches will allow our fans to basically see a game everyday will be a unique experience for those who have stood by us,” said O’Rourke.

“As we are a truly national game, the current border controls means that some of the match day venues may need to change, however we have secured venues in both a NSW Hub model and a hybrid hub model which has most games in NSW but allows for a few games in other states.

“Whilst we don’t see the draw changing, the planning we have undertaken provides us with agility to shift between certain states if required. This version of the draw displays our current venue plan.

“We will continue to work with the Federal and State governments to ensure the health and safety of our players, coaches and other stakeholders and have detailed and practical protocols in place for all parties involved in training and match days.

“I am excited to see us kick off the restart and ultimately finish off what we started last October, with our priority always being to be in a position to crown our Hyundai A-League Premiers and Champions for this season,” concluded O’Rourke.

Key Points

  • Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season will be completed with 27 matches in 28 days from Thursday 16 July – Wednesday 12 August 2020
  • Six (6) venues will be used in NSW and Queensland with the potential for more venues to added subject to government regulations
    • ANZ Stadium (NSW)
    • Bankwest Stadium (NSW)
    • Central Coast Stadium (NSW)
    • McDonald Jones Stadium (NSW)
    • Netstrata Jubilee Stadium (NSW)
    • Cbus Super Stadium (QLD)
  • Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series will begin on Saturday 15 August 2020 
  • Hyundai A-League 2020 Grand Final scheduled for Sunday 23 August 2020