The rivalry continues this Friday night


Brisbane Roar Head Coach John Aloisi says anticipation is high among the playing group ahead of tomorrow night’s Hyundai A-League clash with Western Sydney Wanderers.

Friday night’s match will be the first time the sides have met this Hyundai A-League season and Aloisi says his side are ready and expecting a tough challenge.

“The boys can’t wait, it’s another big game,” Aloisi said.

“The Wanderers haven’t got the results they would have liked but they’re still a very good side.

“It’s going to be a difficult game but we’re ready for it.”

The rivalry between Brisbane and Western Sydney in previous seasons has been one the most electric, with 25 goals scored in the past six encounters between the sides.  

The two clubs have met each other in three of the last four finals series including the epic 2013/14 Hyundai A-League Grand Final at Suncorp Stadium.

Matt McKay

The matchup often produces a result with April 2014 being the last time a meeting between the two sides ended in a draw. Wins have alternated between the sides over the past six encounters.

Tomorrow night’s match will be the first time that the Roar will play at the Wanderers’ temporary home, Spotless Stadium, and Aloisi says his side are well prepared for the Hyundai A-League Round 8 match at the unfamiliar venue.  

“We haven’t played there before but the Wanderers haven’t played a lot there either so it’s a new environment for all involved,” Aloisi said.

“The pitch looks in great condition and I’m sure there’ll still be a great atmosphere.”

Winger Brandon Borrello remains sidelined with a hamstring injury, but the 21-year-old is a chance to be involved in next weekend’s squad to face Melbourne City.

“Brandon is out this weekend but hopefully he’ll be back to play Melbourne City next week.”

Team 16x9

Western Sydney Wanderers FC v Brisbane Roar FC

Spotless Stadium, Sydney

Friday, 25 November 2016, Kick-Off: 7:50PM (Local) (6:50PM AEST)

Western Sydney Wanderers squad: 1.Jerrad TYSON (gk), 3.Jack CLISBY, 5.Brendan HAMILL, 6.Mitch NICHOLS, 7.Steve LUSTICA, 8.Dimas DELGADO (c), 9.Kerem BULUT, 10.Nicolás MARTINEZ, 11.Brendon SANTALAB, 12.Scott NEVILLE, 13.BRUNO PINTARES, 14.Jumpei KUSIKAMI, 15.Kearyn BACCUS, 16.Jaushua SOTIRIO, 17.Artiz BORDA, 18.Robbie CORNTHWAITE, 20.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 22.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS **two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Steve LUSTICA, 11.Brendon SANTALAB, 18.Robbie CORNTHWAITE

Outs: 23.Lachlan SCOTT (not selected)

Unavailable: Nil

Theo 16x9

Brisbane Roar FC squad:  1.Michael THEO (gk) (above), 3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Corey BROWN, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Jamie MACLAREN, 10.Brett HOLMAN, 11.Tommy OAR, 13.Jade NORTH, 15.ARANA, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 19.Jack HINGERT, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Thomas BROICH, 23.Dimitri PETRATOS, 33.Joey KATEBIAN **two to be omitted**

Ins: 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS (promoted), 33.Joey KATEBIAN (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 28.Brandon BORRELLO (hamstring – 1 week)

Referee: Adam Fielding Assistant Referee 1: Owen Goldrick Assistant Referee 2: Greg Taylor Fourth Official: Shaun Evans