Roar depth covers Olyroos absences


Five players have been promoted to an 18-man preliminary squad for Brisbane Roar’s Round 14 Hyundai A-League away match against Wellington Phoenix on Sunday (4pm kick off Qld time).

Defenders Corey Brown and Jerome Polenz, midfielders Steven Lustica and Devante Clut ( below ) and striker Shannon Brady have the chance to push for inclusion in the 17 who will travel to New Zealand early on Saturday.

Players needed to be added to the Roar squad because of the absence of the club’s three Olyroos – Jamie Maclaren, Brandon Borrello and James Donachie – who are in Dubai preparing for the AFC Under-23 Championships and Olympic qualifiers which run for the next three weeks.

Devante Clut

The Roar have a training session tomorrow before Head Coach John Aloisi finalises his squad to travel as Brisbane chases a fifth consecutive victory.

Lustica returns after two weeks out with an abdominal strain and has trained solidly this week.

Clut, Brady, Brown ( below ) and Polenz have all played valuable game time in Foxtel National Youth League matches in recent weeks.

Corey Brown

At least two changes will be made to the Starting XI for last week’s win over Perth Glory – Maclaren in the middle of the attack and Borrello wide right.

In addition to the players added to the squad, contenders for Starting XI selection include Henrique, Jean Carlos Solorzano and Javier Hervas who have all contributed strongly off the bench in recent weeks.

Hervas (below) also played 90 minutes for the Youth team last Sunday.

Javier Hervas

Wellington have promoted four players to a squad hit by suspensions and injuries. But they welcome back Jeffery Sarpong from injury and Albert Riera from suspension.

Hyundai A-League Round 14, Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar FC, Westpac Stadium, Wellington Sunday, 10 January (4pm kick off Qld time)

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 3.Shane STEFANUTTO, 5.Corey BROWN, 6.Jerome POLENZ, 7.CORONA, 8.Steven LUSTICA, 10.HENRIQUE, 11.Jean Carlos SOLORZANO, 13.Jade NORTH, 14.Daniel BOWLES, 16.Devante CLUT, 17.Matt McKAY (c), 18.Javier HERVAS, 19.Jack HINGERT, 20.Shannon BRADY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Thomas BROICH, 23.Dimitri PETRATOS, 36.Andre JANNESE (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Corey BROWN (promoted), 6.Jerome POLENZ (promoted), 8.Steven LUSTICA (return from injury), 16.Devante CLUT (promoted), 20.Shannon BRADY (promoted)

Outs: 9.Jamie MACLAREN, 15.James DONACHIE, 28.Brandon BORRELLO (all on Olyroos duty)

Unavailable: Nil

Henrique Solorzano

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1.Glen MOSS (GK), 3.Justin GULLEY, 5.Troy DANASKOS, 6.Dylan FOX, 7.Jeffery SARPONG, 10.Michael MCGLINCHEY, 11.Kwabena APPIAH, 12.Blake POWELL, 14.Albert RIERA, 15.James McGARRY, 17.Vince LIA, 19.Tom DOYLE, 20.Lewis ITALIANO (GK), 22.Andrew DURANTE (c), 23.Matthew RIDENTON, 24.Logan ROGERSON, 25.Tamupiwa DIMAIRO, 28.Joel STEVENS **two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Jeffery SARPONG (returns from injury), 14.Albert RIERA (returns from suspension), 15.James McGARRY (promoted), 24.Logan ROGERSON (promoted), 25.Tamupiwa DIMAIRO (promoted), 28.Joel STEVENS (promoted)

Outs: 2.Manny MUSCAT (suspended – 2 matches), 4.Roly BONEVACIA (suspended), 8.Alex RODRIGUEZ (suspended), 21.Roy KRISHNA (ankle)

Unavailable: 14.Alex RUFER (broken tibia – season), 16.Louis FENTON (ankle – 2 weeks), 18.Ben SIGMUND (hamstring – 1 week)

Referee: Stephen Lucas; Assistant Referee 1: Glen Lochrie; Assistant Referee 2: Simon Lount; Fourth Official: Alex King

TV: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 4.30pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio: 612 ABC Brisbane, ABC Local Radio Qld, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WELvBRI