Roar fall short in ACL play-off


Brisbane Roar has fallen just short of qualifying for the 2013 AFC Champions League after losing to Thai Premier League team Buriram United on penalties in tonight’s play-off qualifier.

Brisbane Roar has fallen just short of qualifying for the 2013 AFC Champions League after losing to Thai Premier League team Buriram United on penalties in tonight-s play-off qualifier.

After the scores were locked 0-0 at 90 minutes, and then 120 minutes, Buriram scored three times in the shootout while the Roar had their trio of efforts saved by opposition goalkeeper Siwarak Tedsungnoen.

Brisbane goalkeeper Michael Theo was his team-s player of the match, keeping his side in the contest with a string of important saves.

The home side had the majority of the chances on the night and could-ve scored within the first ten minutes of the match – Anawin Jujeen latched into a quickly-fired long ball inside the area and forced a reactive save from Theo at his near post with defender Shane Stefanutto well-placed to clear the ball to safety.

A clash between Theo and teammate Ivan Franjic dealt Brisbane a massive defensive blow soon after and while the right-back continued for almost another half an hour, he eventually succumbed to the earlier knock and was replaced by Jack Hingert in the 37th minute.

The home team heaped pressure on the Brisbane defence late in the first half, their best chances coming from a flurry of corners, most notably Charyl Chappuis who flashed his shot marginally wide of the goal after he was set up on the edge of the area.

Brisbane had the first dangerous chance after the break when captain Thomas Broich weaved his way into the penalty box between two defenders and drew Siwarak out of his goal.

The rebounded ball fell to Mitch Nichols on the left wing but the Brisbane midfielder wasn-t able to find the target with his first time shot just outside the box.

The second half was more action-packed than the first, Theo then pulling off a strong save to deny Suree Sukha before Brisbane-s Besart Berisha and Stef Nijland each went close at the other end.

Inside the last 10 minutes of regular time, Berisha almost found himself with a great chance to put his side in front after Halloran and Broich combined to set him up but the assistant referee-s flag was up for offside.

With no goals in 90 minutes, the match headed for extra time where Theo was particularly busy in the Roar goal.

However, Buriram only had themselves to blame in the 103rd minute when substitute Nutnam Suchao wasted a golden opportunity in front of goal, shooting marginally wide after he was found in space down the left wing – clearly the best chance of the extra 30 minutes played.

A penalty shootout followed and Sirawak saved three of Brisbane-s spot-kicks – from Broich, Berisha and substitute James Meyer – while Osmar, Chappuis and Buriram-s own substitute Jirawat Makkharom all converted to win their side qualification to the 2013 edition of the AFC Champions League.

Buriram United 0
Brisbane Roar 0
Buriram United win 3-0 on penalties

AFC Champions League play-off qualifier
Wednesday, 13 February 2013
Buriram Stadium, Buriram
Kim Dong Jin (Korea Republic)

Buriram United: 1.Siwarek TEDSUNGNOEN (gk), 2. Bunmathan THEERATHON, 3. Prathum CHUTONG, 4. Charyl CHAPPIUS, 5. OSMAR Barba Ibanez, 11. Ekkachai SAMRE (8. Nutnum SUCHAO 90+1-), 15. Surat SUKHA, 17. Anawin JUJEEN, 19. Kai HIRANO (40. Goran JERKOVIC 82-), 23. Anthony AMPAIPITAKWONG (13. Jirawat MAKKHAROM 103-), 25. Suree SUKHA

Substitutes not used: 6. Tanasak SRISAI, 14. Chitipat THANKLANG, 16. Domtasong SURIYA, 26. Yotsapon TEANGDAR (gk)

Yellow cards: Charyl CHAPPIUS 98-, Anawin JUJEEN 116-

Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEO (gk), 3. Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Ivan FRANJIC (19. Jack HINGERT 37-), 7. Besart BERISHA, 9. Stefan NIJLAND (14. Steven LUSTICA, 114-), 11. Ben HALLORAN (21. James MEYER 116-), 13. Jade NORTH, 15. James DONAHCIE, 17. Mitch NICHOLS, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 22. Thomas BROICH (c)

Substitutes not used: 4. Matt JURMAN, 20. Matt ACTON (gk), 25. George LAMBADARIDIS, 26. Corey BROWN

Yellow cards: James DONACHIE 13-, Stefan NIJLAND 35-, Thomas BROICH 38-, Besart BERISHA 89-

Red cards:Nil