Roar four to face World Champions


Four Brisbane Roar players have been chosen in the Westfield Matildas squad who face a mean task in tackling FIFA Women’s World Cup winners Japan in next week’s friendly in Tokyo.

Four Brisbane Roar players have been chosen in the Westfield Matildas squad who face a mean task in tackling FIFA Women-s World Cup winners Japan in next week-s friendly in Tokyo.

All four players are currently playing for overseas clubs during the Westfield W-League off-season but Laura Alleway (Lincoln Ladies), Brooke Spence (Colorado Rapids), Tameka Butt (Boston Breakers) and Emily Gielnik (Liverpool) will join Head Coach Tom Sermanni-s 18-player squad ahead of the clash at Tokyo-s National Stadium.

The match marks the first time Australia has played the World Champions since their 1-0 loss in September last year.

“With only an 18 player squad it-s about finding the right combination of players for the match we have ahead of us,” Sermanni said.

“Japan are an extremely difficult team on home soil and are World Champions so they will be in peak form for this match.

“In saying that we will be bringing some of our internationally based players in for this match which will strengthen key areas for us in what will surely be an exciting match.”

While Alleway, Butt and Spence have 44 caps between the three of them, Gielnik, who earned the tag ‘super sub- in last year-s Westfield W-League season, will earn her first national team cap if she appears against Japan next week.

The game will serve as a key component in Japan-s preparation for the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The match will be streamed live via ABC and FFA websites with the full match shown on ABC 1 from 11.30pm on Wednesday, 11 July.

Westfield Matildas v Japan
Wednesday, 11 July 2012
Local kick off: 5.10pm (6.10pm AEST)
National Stadium, Tokyo

Melissa Barbieri (c) (unattached)
Brianna Davey (Melbourne Victory)

Laura Alleway (Brisbane Roar / Lincoln Ladies)
Danielle Brogan (Sydney FC)
Stephanie Catley (Melbourne Victory)
Thea Slatyer (Sydney FC)
Brooke Spence (Brisbane Roar / Colorado Rapids)
Servet Uzunlar (Sydney FC / Pali Blues)

Teigen Allen (Sydney FC)
Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar / Boston Breakers)
Katrina Gorry (Melbourne Victory / Ottawa Fury)
Alanna Kennedy (Newcastle Jets)

Ashley Brown (Melbourne Victory)
Caitlin Foord (Sydney FC)
Emily Gielnik (Brisbane Roar / Liverpool)
Kathryn Gill (Perth Glory)
Kyah Simon (Sydney FC / Boston Breakers)
Sarah Walsh (Sydney FC)