Roar four named in Young Matildas squad


Four Brisbane Roar W-League players have been selected in the Westfield Young Matildas squad for the 2015 AFF Women’s Championship, held in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam between 1 – 10 May.

Goalkeeper Teagan Micah, defenders Angela Beard and Brooke Goodrich and striker Sunny Franco have been picked by Head Coach Ante Juric.

Australia is sending an Under 20s squad to contest the competition against the senior national teams of Indonesia, Laos, Thailand, Myanmar, Malaysia, Philippines and Vietnam.

The Young Matildas have been drawn in Group A, with Indonesia, Laos and Thailand, with the top two teams advancing to the semi-finals.

Brisbane Roar W-League Head Coach Belinda Wilson was delighted for the four players and said the experience playing against older, more experienced footballers would serve them well ahead of the next Westfield W-League season.

“The selection of Teagan, Ange, Brooke and Sunny in this squad is a result of plenty of hard work and dedication from the players,” Wilson said.

“Since the end of the Westfield W-League season, the four players have continued to perform well in the National Premier Leagues Queensland competition.

“Playing against senior teams from other countries in Asia will be a great experience for them.”

The squad has arrived in Vietnam ahead of their group stage matches against Thailand (May 1), Laos (May 3) and Indonesia (May 5), all in Ho Chi Minh City.

Westfield Young Matildas squad: Jordan Baker, Angela Beard, Ellie Carpenter, Emma Checker, Alexandra Chidiac, Emily Condon, Gabrielle Dal Busco (GK), Julia De Angelis, Kobie Ferguson, Sunny Franco, Beatrice Goad, Brooke Goodrich, Amy Harrison, Monique Ianella, Princess Ibini, Kally Lewis, Annabel Martin, Teagan Micah (GK), Chloe O’Brien, Panagiota Petratos, Olivia Price, Natalie Tobin