Roar looking to continue Gosford run


Captain Matt McKay will be looking to continue an incredible record at Central Coast Stadium when we meet the Mariners in Gosford tomorrow evening (6pm KO QLD time).

In 17 appearances at the venue, McKay has left with at least a point on all 17 occasions & is eager to continue that run tomorrow.

“I’ve never lost there so hopefully that can continue,” McKay said on Saturday morning.

“It’s a great stadium, a good team to play against & it’s normally quite an entertaining game.”

The Roar themselves has not lost in their last 13 meeting against the Mariners (W11, D2), but know they face a stern test against a side fresh of their first victory in almost a year.

McKay, is one of four inclusions for the clash, alongside experienced trio Jacob Pepper, Jack Hingert and Tobias Mikkelsen.


Brisbane will be looking to bounce back from a bitterly disappointing result mid-week against the Victory, but the skipper says every single player is buying in to a common goal.

“Throughout the season we’ve played well in 30 or 45-minute patches. We’re a proud club & I felt for the boys the other night because the game got away from us & then you don’t fall back on the things you should be doing,” McKay continued.

“We’ll never give up. I hate losing, but you have to learn how to handle situations, and during difficult times, it’s all how about you handle that added pressure.

“We need everyone to buy-in & continue working hard.”

A jam-packed January is slowly winding down with a five-day lead-in to Sunday’s clash followed by another five-day break ahead of a double header next Friday night at Suncorp Stadium – get your tickets HERE.



Hyundai A-League 2018/19 — Round 14: Central Coast Mariners v Brisbane Roar
Central Coast Stadium, Gosford
Sunday, 20 January (6pm KO QLD time)

Central Coast Mariners squad: 1.Ben KENNEDY (gk), 2.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITS, 3.Jack CLISBY, 4.Jake McGING, 6.Tom HIARIEJ, 7.Andrew HOOLE, 8.Michael McGLINCHEY, 10.Tommy OAR, 11.Connor PAIN, 12.Adam PEARCE (gk), 13.Aiden O’NEILL, 15.Kye ROWLES, 16.Josh MACDONALD, 18.Matt MILLAR, 19.Matt SIMON (c), 22.Jacob MELLING, 23.Mario SHABOW, 25.Jordan MURRAY  **two to be omitted**

Ins: 15.Kye ROWLES (return from suspension), 16.Josh MACDONALD (promoted)
Outs: nil
Unavailable: 21.Corey GAMEIRO (calf)


Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Brendan WHITE (gk), 2.Dane INGHAM, 3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Adam TAGGART, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Jack HINGERT, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 33.HENRIQUE **two to be omitted**

Ins: 8.Jacob PEPPER (promoted), 17.Matt MCKAY (promoted), 19.Jack HINGERT (returns from injury), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN (promoted)
Outs: 15.Stefan NIGRO (not selected), 34.Aaron Reardon (not selected)
Unavailable: 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS (glute),10.Brett HOLMAN (knee), 13.Stefan MAUK (groin)

Referee: Matthew Conger
Assistant Referee 1: James Tesoriero
Assistant Referee 2: Matthew McOrist
Fourth Official: Stephen Laurie
VAR: Kris Griffiths-Jones

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT), Sky Sport 2 (New Zealand) and MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers
Radio Broadcast: myfootballnation.com (Coast FM). ABC News on Radio, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Listen App – A-League Live.

Hyundai A-League Round 16, Westfield W-League Round 13, Suncorp Stadium, Friday, 25 January