Roar midfield pair named in provisional Socceroos squad


Brisbane Roar midfielders Luke Brattan and Matt McKay have been named in Ange Postecoglou’s 46-player provisional Socceroos squad for the upcoming AFC Asian Cup in January.

McKay recently made his 50th appearance for Australia against Japan in an international friendly while today’s announcement marks Brattan’s first Socceroos selection, one of four uncapped players chosen in the extended squad.

Six former Brisbane players have also been named – Ivan Franjic, Ben Halloran, Robbie Kruse, Mitch Nichols, Tommy Oar and Dario Vidosic – alongside Brattan and McKay.

Brattan said he was excited to be included in the provisional squad named by former Roar boss Postecoglou but knew he would have to continue to work hard if he wants to represent Australia at the AFC Asian Cup.

“All I can do is play consistently, Ange is a big believer in playing consistently and that’s what I’ve been trying to do all this season and last season as well,” the 24-year-old explained.  

Brattan was also full of praise for McKay, saying playing alongside him  at club level had also helped develop his game.

“I learn something new off him at training every day,” Brattan said.

“Playing with him is an honour – he’s a machine that never stops. He’s a great player and he’s experienced with the Socceroos so if I need to have a chat with him to get some advice, I definitely will.”

English-born Brattan has been a part of the Brisbane Roar set up since the inaugural Foxtel National Youth League season in 2008/09 and has also represented Australia at Under 20 level.

Despite making his Socceroos debut in 2006, McKay’s breakthrough for the green and gold came at the AFC Asian Cup 2011.

At the tournament, McKay set up Harry Kewell’s winning goal against Iraq in the quarter final, assisted three goals in the 6-0 semi final win over Uzbekistan and played the full 120 minutes in the 1-0 loss to Japan in the final.

Australia’s final squad of 23 must be named by Tuesday, 30 December ahead of the start of the tournament on Friday, 9 January.

SOCCEROOS 46-PLAYER PROVISIONAL SQUAD FOR AFC ASIAN CUP: Mustafa AMINI (Borussia Dortmund); Terry ANTONIS (Sydney FC), Aziz BEHICH (Bursaspor); Oliver BOZANIC (FC Luzern); Luke BRATTAN (Brisbane Roar); Mark BRESCIANO (Al Gharafa); Joshua BRILLANTE (Firoentina); Nathan BURNS (Wellington Phoenix); Tim CAHILL (New York Red Bulls); Jason DAVIDSON (West Bromwich, Albion); Daniel DE SILVA (Perth Glory); Adam FEDERICI (Reading); Ivan FRANJIC (Torpedo Moskva); Eugene GALEKOVIC (Adelaide United); Ben HALLORAN (Fortuna Dusseldorf); Chris HERD (Aston Villa); James HOLLAND (Austria Vienna); Bernie IBINI (Sydney FC); Mile JEDINAK (Crystal Palace); Brad JONES (Liverpool); Tomi JURIC (Western Sydney Wanderers); Josh KENNEDY (Nagoya Grampus); Robbie KRUSE (Bayer Leverkusen); Mitchell LANGERAK (Borussia Dortmund); Mathew LECKIE (Ingolstadt); Massimo LUONGO (Swindon Town); Ryan MCGOWAN (Shandong Luneng); Matt MCKAY (Brisbane Roar); Mark MILLIGAN (Melbourne Victory); Aaron MOOY (Melbourne City); Mitch NICHOLS (Perth Glory); Tommy OAR (FC Utrecht); Josh RISDON (Perth Glory); Nikita RUKAVYTSYA (Western Sydney Wanderers); Mat RYAN (Club Brugge); Trent SAINSBURY (PEC Zwolle); Brad SMITH (Liverpool); Matthew SPIRANOVIC (Western Sydney Wanderers); Adam TAGGART (Fulham); Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY (Western Sydney Wanderers); James TROISI (Zulte Waregem); Carl VALERI (Melbourne Victory); Dario VIDOSIC (FC Sion); Alex WILKINSON (Jeonbuk Hyundai); Rhys WILLIAMS (Middlesbrough); Bailey WRIGHT (Preston North End).