Roar players in Westfield Matildas camp


Six Brisbane Roar players have been chosen in new Westfield Matildas Head Coach Hesterine de Reus’ first training camp.

Six Brisbane Roar players have been chosen in new Westfield Matildas Head Coach Hesterine de Reus- first training camp.

Laura Alleway, Amy Chapman, Emily Gielnik, Katrina Gorry, Elise Kellond-Knight and Clare Polkinghorne have been named within the 31-player squad for the four-day camp.

The Roar-s Kim Carroll – who missed the Westfield W-League 2012/13 season due to injury – has also been named but is listed under a group of players who will train with a reduced workload.

The training camp is de Reus- first since she was named as the new Head Coach of Australia-s national women-s team in late December.

Since then, the former Dutch international has spent time meeting with stakeholders and visiting Westfield W-League matches, including Brisbane Roar-s semi-final against Sydney FC at Queensland Sports and Athletics Centre.

“It is good to have the bulk of players available and in the country to come into our first camp together,” de Reus said.

“The purpose of this training camp is to meet with the players, set-up the highlights of how we are going to work together and also discuss our short-term and long-term aims.

“Most importantly we can start on the field and work on our playing style.”

The training camp will take place between 21 – 24 February at Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.

Westfield Matildas training camp squad: Teigan ALLEN, Laura ALLEWAY, Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), Danielle BROGAN, Ashley BROWN, Ellie BRUSH, Kim CARROLL, Stephanie CATLEY, Amy CHAPMAN, Brianna DAVEY (gk), Lisa DE VANNA, Caitlin FOORD, Heather GARRIOCK, Emily GIELNIK, Kathryn GILL, Katrina GORRY, Michelle HEYMAN, Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, Alanna KENNEDY, Samantha KERR, Shamiran KHAMIS (gk), Leena KHAMIS, Aivi LUIK, Collette McCALLUM, Ellyse PERRY, Teresa POLIAS, Clare POLKINGHORNE, Renee ROLLASON, Kyah SIMON, Servet UZUNLAR, Emily VAN EGMOND