Roar provides new talent pathway


Talented young footballers who dream of playing in the Hyundai A-League now have a clear path towards that ambition thanks to Brisbane Roar.

In association with the Queensland Academy of Sport, the Roar has formed a 22-player squad to contest next season’s PS4 National Premier Leagues under-18 competition.

The Roar-QAS squad will be one of the youngest in the competition with some players not turning 15 until later this year.

Talented players from the squad may have the opportunity to progress to the Young Roar team, which plays in the Foxtel National Youth League and eventually could advance to the Roar’s Hyundai A-League squad.

Players have been drawn from areas as far north as Townsville and south to Lismore in northern NSW.

The squad’s coach Josh McCloughan said the selection process had been extensive and thorough and he was delighted to bring together one of the most talented groups of young footballers ever assembled in the state.

“I am excited about the next step in the development of these players,’’ McCloughan said.

“Brisbane Roar has now put in place a clear pathway for that development to continue through to the highest levels of football. It’s a great incentive for all young players who aspire to be professional footballers.”

McCloughan’s squad will be based initially at Toowong FC’s Dunmore Park. They will begin training later this month.

The Brisbane Roar-QAS NPL under-18 training squad is: Wilfred Armand (Western Pride); Oskar Dillon (Palm Beach); Oliver Duncan (Sunshine Coast); Jesse Gibbs (Sunshine Coast); Callum Harris (Olympic); Henry Hore (QAS); Dane Ingham (Olympic); Aleksandar Krsic (QAS); Daniel Leck (Palm Beach); Finn Matheson (QAS); Thomas Miller (QAS); Liam O’Bryan (Olympic); Alex Parsons (Olympic); Rhys Raymond (QAS); Aaron Reardon (Brisbane Strikers); Adam Sawyer (Brisbane City); Lachlan Sayers (Brisbane City); Thomas Schulz (QAS); Lachlan Strogusz (QAS); Lachlan Weier (Brisbane Strikers); Victor Wisloff; Nicholas Milner (Brisbane City).