Roar sign Academy trio on scholarship


Brisbane Roar Football Club has continued its commitment to developing young Australian football talent with the addition of three scholarship players.

Goalkeeper Macklin Freke, along with defender Kai Trewin & 16-year-old defender Jordan Courtney-Perkins have been promoted on Hyundai A-League Scholarships.

The three BRFC Academy products join defender Izaack Powell, the Club’s youngest ever Hyundai A-League player, as the Club’s scholarship quartet for the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season.

It’s a deserved opportunity for the three up-and-coming talents who have trained strongly during Hyundai A-League pre-season, with Head Coach Robbie Fowler impressed with the trio’s attitude and desire.


Proud Queenslander Freke, who was the Club’s first Foxtel Y-League Championship-winning goalkeeper, is thrilled to have earned the opportunity in his home city.

“As a Queenslander, I’m proud to have earned a scholarship with my hometown Club,” Freke said.

“I’m looking forward to continue training hard, doing my best to impress the coaches and contribute to the squad this season.”

Fellow Queensland youngster Courtney-Perkins, who has risen through the ranks of the BRFC Academy, is excited by the opportunity.


“It’s a fantastic opportunity to continue my development. We’re building a strong Hyundai A-League squad here in Brisbane and I’m looking forward to contributing this season,” Courtney-Perkins said.

The four players will all have the opportunity to train alongside our Hyundai A-League side this pre-season, with three recently returning from a week-long pre-season camp with the squad in Gladstone.

All four are experienced at a national level with Trewin & Freke featuring heavily in the Young Socceroos set-up in recent years while Powell & Courtney-Perkins also recently attend a 30-player Joeys camp at the Australian Institute of Sport ahead of this year’s FIFA U17 World Cup.

The quartet have all played a pivotal role in the Young Roar’s NPL QLD 2019 campaign, with Freke, Powell & Courtney-Perkins all taking the field in the squad’s Foxtel Y-League 2019 Grand Final win over the Wanderers in February.


Freke, Trewin & Courtney-Perkins will all be putting their best foot forward in search of their respective Hyundai A-League debuts, while Powell will be hoping to add to his six appearances made during the 2018-19 season.


Goalkeepers: 1.Max CROCOMBE, 21.Jamie YOUNG, 31.Macklin FREKE

Defenders: 2.Scott NEVILLE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED, 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 15.Aaron REARDON, 19.Jack HINGERT, 22.Jake MCGING, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 27.Kai TREWIN, 28.Izaack POWELL, 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS

Midfielders: 8.Jacob PEPPER, 10.Brad INMAN, 12.Aiden O’NEILL, 13.Stefan MAUK, 14.George MELLS, 26.Jay O’SHEA

Attackers: 7.Jai INGHAM, 9.Roy O’DONOVAN, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS

FFA Cup Round of 32: Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar