Roar v Victory: Squads & stats


There have been 100 goals scored between the two sides, split 50 apiece. Who will score #101? Take a look at the breakdown ahead of Saturday’s BIG game at Suncorp Stadium.

Head-to-head: Roar v Victory

  • Overall record: 13 wins, 8 draws, 16 defeats. Goals for: 50; Goals against: 50
  • Brisbane Roar have won two and drawn two of their last five games against Melbourne Victory, outscoring them 10-5 in that period.
  • The Victory hold the edge in meetings this season, winning the last iteration in Melbourne following a 1-1 season opening draw.
  • Only once has there ever been a scoreless draw between the sides in 37 meetings (April 2016).
  • The most common scoreline is a 1-0 Melbourne Victory win.
  • There is an average of 2.7 goals in Roar-Victory matches.

Don’t forget BACK-TO-BACK football this Saturday. Watch our Young Roar take on SWQ Thunder in the PS4 NPL QLD (4:10pm KO) before our Hyundai A-League side face Melbourne Victory at 6:50pm. SECURE YOUR SEATS NOW!

Last five meetings

  • Victory 3-2 Roar – January 13, 2017 at AAMI Park
  • Roar 1-1 Victory – October 7, 2016 at Suncorp Stadium
  • Roar 2-1 Victory – April 15, 2016 at Suncorp Stadium
  • Victory 0-0 Roar – April 9, 2016 at AAMI Park
  • Roar 5-0 Victory – March 12, 2016 at Suncorp Stadium

Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory at Suncorp Stadium

  • Record: 9 wins, 3 draws, 7 defeats. Goals for: 28; Goals against: 18
  • The Roar are undefeated in their last three home matches against the Victory, outscoring the Victorian side 8-2 in that time (W2, D1)
  • Only twice has a side scored five goals in this fixture – both times it was the Roar at Suncorp Stadium
  • Melbourne Victory have conceded just two opening half goals across their last 13 games away from home
  • The Roar have won just one of their last four games at home and will now be looking to avoid consecutive home losses for the first time since a brace of losses to Melbourne Victory in April 2015.

Stats breakdown

  • Brisbane Roar have made 10,966 passes so far this season, the most of any team and nearly 500 more than any other squad (Melbourne City, 10,478). 
  • Melbourne Victory have converted 22.3% of their shots (excluding blocked) into goals this campaign, the most of any team in the competition and nine percentage points more than Brisbane Roar (13.3%)
  • Matt McKay 1,383 passes so far this season, more than any other player and nearly 400 more than Victory’s best, Carl Valeri (992). 
  • Marco Rojas is on target with 75% of his shots at goal so far this season, the highest rate of any player to have attempted more than 10 total shots. Unfortunately for the visitors the Kiwi Messi will be absent on international duty this weekend.
  • No side has scored more goals than the Victory (48) and only Sydney FC have conceded fewer.
  • The Victory have scored 25 of their 48 goals in the 16-30 and 76-90 minute brackets but also conceded the second-most goals of any side in the final 15 minutes. The Roar enjoy scoring most in the 15 minutes leading up to half-time.
  • Brisbane have only lost once on the 14 occasions that they’ve scored first this season (W7, D6, L1).

Match details & squads

Hyundai A-League 2016/17 Round 24, Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory, Saturday, 25 March 2017. Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane. Kick-off 6:50pm (QLD time).

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 3.Luke DEVERE, 5.Corey BROWN, 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Jamie MACLAREN, 10.Brett HOLMAN, 13.Jade NORTH (c), 15.ARANA, 19.Jack HINGERT, 20.Shannon BRADY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Thomas BROICH, 25.Kye ROWLES, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 28.Brandon BORRELLO, 29.Joe CALETTI, 43.Tomislav BILIC (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Luke DEVERE (returns from injury), 8.Jacob PEPPER (promoted), 22.Thomas BROICH (returns from injury), 25.Kye ROWLES (promoted), 43.Tomislav BILIC (gk) (promoted)

Outs: 1.Michael THEO (gk) (suspended – 2 matches), 17.Matt MCKAY (knee – 4-6 weeks), 46.Cameron CRESTANI (not selected) Unavailable: 4.Daniel BOWLES (knee – season), 11.Tommy OAR (hamstring – 2 weeks), 24.Connor O’TOOLE (ankle – 3 weeks)

Melbourne Victory squad: 2.Jason GERIA, 4.Nick ANSELL, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 11.Mitch AUSTIN, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15.Alan BARO, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.James DONACHIE, 19.George HOWARD, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Carl VALERI (c), 22.Stefan NIGRO, 31.Christian THEOHAROUS, 32.Cameron MCGILP, 35.Josh HOPE, 40.Matt ACTON (gk), 49.Pierce WARING **two to be omitted**

Ins: 19.George HOWARD (promoted), 22.Stefan NIGRO (promoted), 31.Christian THEOHAROUS (promoted), 32.Cameron MCGILP (promoted), 35.Josh HOPE (promoted), 49.Pierce WARING (promoted)

Outs: 7.Marco ROJAS (international duty), 8.Besart BERISHA (international duty), 10.James TROISI (international duty), 23.Jai INGHAM (international duty) Unavailable: Nil

Referee: Matthew Conger; Assistant Referee 1: Nathan MacDonald; Assistant Referee 2: David Walsh; Fourth Official: Jarred Gillett