Roar Women raring to go in season opener


Brisbane Roar Women will look to make amends for last season’s narrow Westfield W-League Grand Final loss when they travel south for the season opener against Canberra United.

Brisbane Roar Women will look to make amends for last season-s narrow Westfield W-League Grand Final loss when they travel south for the season opener against Canberra United.

Even in the competition-s short history, a strong rivalry has been built between the two clubs who have shared some of the most tightly-contested matches over the past four seasons.

In the Roar-s stellar first season, United were the only side to beat them in an otherwise undefeated season but the Queensland side still claimed the Westfield W-League-s inaugural Premiership and Championship.

The 2010/11 campaign saw Brisbane knock out their southern rivals in a dramatic semi-final at Ballymore Stadium on their way to winning their second Championship in the competition decider.

Canberra-s new coach Jitka Klimkova guided her side to an undefeated 2011/12 season, culminating in defeating the Roar in the Grand Final earlier this year.

Brisbane-s own debutant coach Belinda Wilson has urged her side to feed off the intensity of the match which forms the highlight of the Westfield W-League-s opening round of fixtures.

“I think the background will definitely play into the game,” she said.

“Not from my point of view because I-m only new to the W-League but for the girls, there-s a lot of history and pride will be on the line.

“Especially with how the Grand Final went down, both teams will come out with something to prove.

“Canberra, being the Champions, will want to come out firing while we want to prove we-re better than what we were in that Grand Final.”

With veteran Roar players Casey Dumont, Joanne Burgess and Kim Carroll omitted from this season-s squad with long-term injury and attacking pair Catherine Cannuli and Aivi Luik leaving for new Westfield W-League side Western Sydney Wanderers and Perth Glory respectively, the Brisbane coach could field up to five new faces in tomorrow-s match.

Wilson was only appointed to the top job six weeks ago meaning the Roar Women have had a shorter preparation time than most of the other teams but she says they-ll be no excuses come tomorrow afternoon.

“It-s now game time,” she said.

“We know pre-season is finished and the competition starts now.

“Presenting the girls with their jerseys last night was the icing on the cake and they-re just amped to kick it off and get that ball into the back of the net.”

Brisbane Roar take on Canberra United on Saturday, 20 October at McKellar Park, Canberra. Kick-off is at 2pm with extended match highlights on ABC1 from 5pm Queensland time.

Saturday, 20 October
Canberra United v Brisbane Roar

Venue: McKellar Park, Canberra
Kick off: 4:30 PM
Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Canberra United squad: 1. Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2. Caitlin COOPER, 3. Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, 4. Christine WALTERS, 5. Grace FIELD, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Hayley RASO, 9. Grace GILL, 10. Snez VELJANOVSKA, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole SYKES, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Sally SHIPARD, 16. Catherine BROWN, 17. Arian HINGST, 18. Samantha WOOD, 19. Jennifer BISSET, 20. Trudy BURKE (gk)

Ins: 1. Mackenzie ARNOLD (Perth Glory), 5. Grace FIELD (Woden Valley/ACTAS), 16. Catherine BROWN (Woden Valley/ACTAS), 17. Ariane HINGST (Newcastle Jets), 18. Samantha WOOD (Canberra FC), 20. Trudy BURKE (Illawarra Stingrays)

Outs: Lydia WILLIAMS (knee – season), Aroon CLANSEY (club video analyst), Emma KETE (Sydney FC), Ellyse PERRY (Sydney FC), Kahlia HOGG (USA scholarship)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Hoshimi KISHI (GK), 3. Amy CHAPMAN, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 7. Erika ELZE, 9. Emma PITTMAN, 10. Lana HARCH, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Georgia CHAPMAN, 15. Hannah BEARD, 16. Sachiko TATSUOKA, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 19. Katrina GORRY, 18. Kate STEWART (GK)

Ins: 3. Amy CHAPMAN (returns from injury), 7. Erika ELZE (Perth Glory), Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT (Returns from injury), 9. Emma PITTMAN (The Gap FC), 14. Georgia CHAPMAN (Redlands United), 15. Hannah BEARD (LA Strikers/USA), 16. Sachiko TATSUOKA (Redlands United), 19. Katrina GORRY (Melbourne Victory), 18. Kate STEWART (Redlands United), 20. Joanne BUCKLEY (Redlands United).

Outs: Casey DUMONT (groin – season) Joanne BURGESS (injury – season), Kim CARROLL (knee – season), Catherine CANNULI (Western Sydney Wanderers), Aivi LUIK (Perth Glory), Michaela HATZIRODOS (Newcastle Jets), Olga CEBRIAN GARCIA, Ellen BEUMONT (retired)

Omitted: 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 6. Ashley SPINA , 8. Elise KELLOND-KINGHT (knee – 3 weeks), 12. Rebecca PRICE, 20. Joanne BUCKLEY, Tameka BUTT