Roar Women ready for Glory clash

Brisbane Roar Women are getting ready for their next challenge against Perth Glory this Saturday at Perry Park.

Brisbane Roar Women are getting ready for their next challenge against Perth Glory this Saturday at Perry Park.

After a massive 4-0 win against the Newcastle Jets at Wanderers Oval last Saturday, the Roar Women are looking to take out the three points again this week.

Brisbane captain Claire Polkinghorne said that the team made a great turn around last week after a draw and a loss in the opening rounds and are keen to show the same ruthlessness against Perth.

“We still haven-t hit our peak yet,” Polkinghorne said

“As long as we keep improving we will hopefully get the results we are looking for.

“We are coming off our first win of the season, hopefully we can continue that throughout the rest of the season,” she said.

Polkinghorne said that the Roar squad have been working hard over the past week to ensure they maintained their momentum.

“There are a lot of good things that we in the game against Newcastle and if we can do that again we can play a good game,” she said.

“They are going to be a tough team to beat.

“They are a well drilled team and they have a few players on the national team but as long as we keep it simple like we did last week it will work in our favour.”

According to Polkinghorne, the crowd this weekend will help push the girls over the line in only their second home game of the Westfield W-League season.

“Hopefully we can get a great crowd out at Perry Park and show them a really exciting game,” she said.

“It has been a really good week especially after last weekend-s win so everyone is really looking forward to getting out there and having another good go.”

The Brisbane Roar and Perth Glory clash kicks off this Saturday at Perry Park at 4pm.

Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory
Saturday, 27 November 2010
Perry Park, Brisbane
Local kick-off time: 4.00pm
Jacqui Melksman
Assistant referees: Renae Coghill and Rachael Mitchenson
Fourth official: Christie Robb

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Casey Dumont (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 3. Karla REUTER, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (C), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Kim CARROLL, 7. Joanne BURGESS, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Alisha FOOTE, 10. Lana HARCH, 11. Aivi LUIK, 12. Rebekah STOTT, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Amy CHAPMAN, 15. Erika ELZE, 16. Lauren COLTHORPE, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 19. Lisa DE VANNA, 20. Kate STEWART (gk)
*four to be omitted*

In: Alisha FOOTE (promoted), Rebekah STOTT (promoted), Erika ELZE (promoted), Lauren COLTHORPE (returns from Danish club side Fortuna Hjorring)

Out: Nil


Perth Glory squad: 1. Tine CEDERKVIST (gk), 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Samantha KERR, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Alexandra SINGER, 7. Alexandra NILSSON, 8. Tanya OXTOBY (c), 11. Lara FILOCAMO, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO, 14. Collette McCALLUM, 15. Jaymee GIBBONS, 16. Sadie LAWRENCE, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 20. Kathleen WAYCOTT (gk)

In: Sadie LAWRENCE (promoted)

Out: Stacey LEARMONT (omitted)

Unavailable: Nil

Follow Brisbane Roar on Twitter

Follow Brisbane Roar on Facebook