Spirited Roar go down at Suncorp Stadium


A spirited fight from Brisbane Roar has fallen just short in a pulsating Hyundai A-League contest against Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium.

Eighth and ninth goals for the season from Roar talisman Adam Taggart in the first half weren’t quite enough as a valiant 10-man Roar outfit fell to a 4-2 defeat against the ladder leaders.

Sunday’s tribute to our former Managing Director

It was a scintillating first 45 minutes that pleased Interim Head Coach Darren Davies, who applauded his side’s ball movement and attacking endeavour.

“I thought we were very good in the first half. We pressed well and high, were positive in transition and we had a deserved lead,” Davies said post-match.

“Then, the game changes in the second half, and we have to defend for just over 35 minutes with 10 men and that was the story of the game.

“Let’s bottle that first half, the way we played with and without the ball, and move on to next week.”

Both wingers in Dane Ingham and Eric Bautheac played key roles in the Roar’s two goals, with the pair recording an assist each as Brisbane’s number nine tightened the Golden Boot race with two first-half goals.


The Roar were forced to dig deep and defend after being reduced to 10-men early in the second half, with Jamie Young called upon to make a number of remarkable saves to keep the Glory at bay.

Two penalties eventually brought the visitors level before an unfortunate own goal & an Andy Keogh header in the dying stages secured the three points for the home side.

Match Highlights: Brisbane Roar vs Perth Glory

The Roar now head back on the road to Melbourne to face Melbourne City at AAMI Park on Friday night (6:50pm KO QLD time) before returning to Suncorp Stadium to face City’s cross-town rivals next Tuesday, 15 January (6:50pm KO) – Get your tickets HERE.


  • An aggresive Roar attack created a number of chances with Adam Taggart converting twice for a first-half brace.
  • A foul from Daniel Bowles on Joel Chianese saw the Roar reduced to 10-men early in the second half.
  • Jamie Young made a string of mind-boggling saves throughout the second-half as the Glory put the Roar back four under pressure.
  • The Glory found the back of the net three times in the final 10 minutes to take the points.



Brisbane Roar – Taggart 21’ – 1-0
Dane Ingham thunders down the line and sends a targeted cross over the Glory defence, where Taggart waits and swerves past Reddy to slot it home. 

Brisbane Roar – Taggart 41’ – 2-0 
Taggart rises high to connect with Eric Bautheac’s cross and buries it into the roof of the net.

Perth Glory – Kilkenny 59’ – 2-1 
Joel Chianese is brought down in the box before Neil Kilkenny steps up to the spot and converts past Young. 

Perth Glory – Kilkenny 81’ – 2-2 
After consultation with the VAR, the referee points to the spot and Kilkenny steps up again, rolling it into the bottom corner to pull the visitors level. 

Perth Glory – Own goal 85’ – 3-2 
Skilful work down the line pays dividends for the Glory as the ball is crossed in from the right and deflects off a defender into the Roar net.

Perth Glory – Keogh 87’ – 4-2 
Diego Castro steals the ball and parries it to Chianese, who turns and crosses to Keogh, with the captain heading home past Young from close-range. 



Hyundai A-League 2018/19 – Round 11: Brisbane Roar FC v Perth Glory 
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Sunday, 6 January

Brisbane Roar 2 (Taggart 21’, 41’)  

Perth Glory 4 (Kilkenny 59’, 81’, Own goal 85’, Keogh 87’)  

Half-Time: 2-0

Hyundai A-League Round 15: Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory, Suncorp Stadium, Tuesday, 15 January (6:50pm KO)