Thijssen’s Roar start with home point


Brisbane Roar has fought back for a point in Frans Thijssen’s first match as interim coach, equalising late through Henrique to claim a 1-1 draw with Perth Glory on Saturday.

A moment’s silence was respectfully observed before kick-off at Suncorp Stadium to honour the memory of Australian cricketer Phillip Hughes, while supporters led a rousing minute’s applause in the 63rd minute of the match.

It was a frantic opening between the reigning Champions and current league leaders as no fewer than five shots threatened the goalkeepers in the first 20 minutes.

Thomas Broich and Henrique came closest for Brisbane as the Johnny Warren medallist first drove his finish straight at Danny Vukovic, before the Brazilian excited with a stunning dribble and shot against the crossbar.

It was the visitors who capped the action-packed period on top, though, thanks to Dino Djulbic’s powerful volley from Nebojsa Marinkovic’s corner.

Djlubic’s strike was enough to earn Glory a 1-0 lead at half time and see them sit on the counter after the restart, meaning Brisbane needed to work through heavy congestion for an equaliser.

The scenario saw Kenny Lowe’s side threaten occasionally on the break, but neither side was able to create a clear cut chance until late in the second half.

Brisbane continued to push numbers forward in search of a leveller which finally arrived in the 86th minute.

Henrique arrived as the hero, getting on the end of a pass from Corey Brown to turn his marker and finish with aplomb into the bottom corner.

The Champions weren’t satisfied with a point in Thijssen’s first game as interim coach, winning two set pieces in stoppage time but were unable to convert as the match finished 1-1.

Thijssen’s side will be tested be a gruelling away schedule over the next four fixtures with trips to Western Sydney Wanderers, Melbourne City, Adelaide United and Central Coast Mariners.

Brisbane Roar 1 (HENRIQUE 86’)
Perth Glory 1 (Dino DJULBIC 20’)
Hyundai A-League Round 8 2014/15 season
Saturday, 29 November at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Strebre Delovski

Brisbane Roar: 2. Matthew SMITH (c), 6. Corey BROWN, 10. HENRIQUE, 13. Jade NORTH, 14. Daniel BOWLES, 17. Matt McKAY, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 21. Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Dimitri PETRATOS (8. Steven LUSTICA 59’), 28. Brandon BORRELLO (7. Mensur KURTISHI 74’).

Substitutes not used: 15. James DONACHIE, 20. Kofi DANNING, 30. Matt ACTON (gk).

Yellow cards: 13. Jade NORTH 65’

Red cards: Nil

Perth Glory: 1. Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 5. Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Youssouf HERSI (17. Mitch NICHOLS 18′), 9. Andrew KEOGH, 10, Nebojsa MARINKOVIC (14. Chris HAROLD 61’), 11. Richard GARCIA (13. Diogo FERREIRA 81’), 19. Josh RISDON, 20. Daniel DE SILVA, 21. Scott JAMIESON, 23. Michael THWAITE (c).

Substitutes not used: 15. Jamie Maclaren, 18. Jack DUNCAN.

Yellow cards: 5. Rostyn GRIFFITHS 36′, 14. Chris HAROLD 70′

Red cards: Nil