Young Roar Foxtel Y-League squad confirmed


Our squad to defend the Club’s maiden Foxtel Y-League title has been locked in, as has the squad’s new Head Coach.

Brisbane Roar foundation Hyundai A-League player Chris Grossman will take the reins of the Young Roar moving into the Foxtel Y-League 2019/20 campaign.

Grossman, who has been back at the Club in a coaching capacity with the Young Roar & the Club’s Academy for the past three years, is looking forward to seeing his young squad develop against fellow Hyundai A-League Club youth outfits.

“It’s a great opportunity for our young players, many of whom have come through our Academy ranks, to test themselves against some of the finest young players from around the country,” Grossman said.


“Winning the title last season was an amazing reward for the Club and the playing group. I am excited to see the promising local talent which we have added to this year’s squad and hope to provide them the opportunity to develop and grow as footballers.”

“Our job is to help them become the best footballers they can and hopefully see them progress into our Hyundai A-League ranks should opportunities arise.”

The squad includes the finest of Australia’s next generation of stars, with many having earned minutes with the Hyundai A-League squad during pre-season.

Experienced striker Mirza Muratovic & defender Emlyn Wellsmore both know what it takes to win Australia’s premier youth competition – the pair both played the entire 90 minutes in the 2019 decider back in February.


The squad also features plenty with international experience. Goalkeeper Jack Warshawsky earlier this year represented Australia at the AFF U15 Championship while young guns Jackson Simpkin & Keegan Jelacic head into the new campaign on the back of representing New Zealand at the FIFA U17 World Cup.

The Roar’s Foxtel Y-League campaign gets underway with a first-up home game against Melbourne Victory at Eric Evans Reserve, home of Ipswich Knights, on Saturday, 16 November (10:30am KO).


Goalkeepers: Nathan FOSTER, Jack WARSHAWSKY

Defenders: Liam MCARTHUR, Hassan RAMAZANI, Jackson SIMPKIN, Emlyn WELLSMORE

Midfielders: Eli ADAMS, Keegan JELACIC, Dauntae MARINER, Cooper MCCORMACK, Brandon MCMORROW, Oliver PLUSNIN, Harry TALBOT, Oscar WOODS

Attackers: Braydon DOOLAN, Mirza MURATOVIC, Cai TIPALDO, Marquez WALTERS, Solomon WELDERMARIAM