Young Roar to open Foxtel NYL season


Brisbane Roar will open the Foxtel National Youth League 2016/17 season against Melbourne Victory at Corporate Travel Management Stadium on Saturday, 12 November (4pm KO Qld time).

Young Roar will join the Brisbane Roar senior squad as well as the Roar Women in opening their respective seasons in what is a great honour for BRFC.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today released the draw for the Foxtel National Youth League 2016/17 Season.

Following on from last season’s revamped format, the competition will once again see the ten clubs divided into two conferences. The Roar will feature in Conference A alongside Adelaide United, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory and Perth Glory.

Each side will play every team in their conference once at home and once away with two byes per club. View the Roar’s full fixture at the bottom of this article.

Dane Ingham

The Roar will play their opening home fixture at Corporate Travel Management Stadium before playing the remaining three home fixtures at Kippa-Ring’s A.J. Kelly Field.

Brisbane will host two football-packed weekends with the club’s Hyundai A-League, Westfield W-League and Foxtel NYL teams all playing home fixtures on December 10/11, 2016 and January 7/8, 2017.

Young Roar will face Adelaide United at A.J. Kelly Field on December 10 before our Men and Women clash with Adelaide at Suncorp Stadium the following day, while Young Roar will play Perth Glory at A.J. Kelly Field on January 8, the day after another double header at Suncorp Stadium.

The Young Roar squad will be announced at half-time of this weekend’s Hyundai A-League match at Suncorp Stadium against Perth Glory. Purchase your tickets for Sunday’s game HERE.

Young Roar

FFA’s Head of Hyundai A-League, Greg O’Rourke, is looking forward to the upcoming season.

“The Foxtel National Youth League has proved itself as the perfect breeding ground for future Hyundai A-League players,” said O’Rourke.

“Stemming from the rich pool of talent within the PS4 National Premier League competitions around Australia, the Foxtel National Youth League competition then provides additional development for our country’s best Under 20 players. 

“It is very encouraging to see that over the past four seasons 77 players from the Foxtel National Youth League have gone on to sign Hyundai A-League contracts.

“We are looking forward to another successful Foxtel National Youth League season which will once again showcase the best young footballers in Australia,” concluded O’Rourke.

Harry Sawyer

Brisbane Roar Foxtel National Youth League 2016/17 season fixture

* Home fixtures in bold, all times AEST

Brisbane Roar FC v Melbourne Victory, Saturday, 12 November (4pm) at Spencer Park

Perth Glory v Brisbane Roar FC, Sunday, 20 November (12:30pm) at Ashfield Sports Reserve

Brisbane Roar FC  v Melbourne City, Saturday, 3 December (2pm) at A.J. Kelly Field 

Brisbane Roar FC v Adelaide United, Saturday, 10 December (10:30am) at A.J. Kelly Field 

Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar FC, Sunday, 18 December (2:30PM) at Lakeside Stadium 

Melbourne City v Brisbane Roar FC, Monday, 2 January (3:30pm) at C.B Smith Reserve

Brisbane Roar FC v Perth Glory, Sunday, 8 January (10:30am) at A.J. Kelly Field 

Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar FC, Saturday, 14 January (4pm) at  FC Elite Systems Football Centre