Young Roar see off Reds


Young Roar have notched their first win of the Foxtel National Youth League season, seeing off Adelaide United Youth 1-0 at Goodwin Park on Saturday.

The home side led from nearly start to finish after Devante Clut’s early stunner to remain unbeaten from two matches.

The Roar opened the scoring in just the 7th minute when Clut pounced first-time on a right-sided cutback, driving his finish into the bottom corner to make it 1-0.

Goalkeeper Fraser Chalmers was then immediately called on to keep the lead intact when he reacted quickly to a low Bruce Kamau effort.

Luke Pavlou had a chance to extend Roar’s lead in the 22nd minute from a near identical move to Clut’s opener, but Paul Izzo stuck out a foot to divert the shot.

That signalled the last of the chances for the first half and at the break Jeff Hopkins introduced Sam Sibatuara for Young Socceroos striker Brandon Borrello.

Several more changes followed for both sides after the restart but Young Roar remained in charge of the contest.

Jean Carlos Solorzano almost cheekily extended the advantage midway through the second half when he pounced before Izzo could clear but the striker steered his hurried finish narrowly wide.

Sibatuara was next to go close when he drew a diving save from Izzo, while Yango could have sealed victory late after forcing a turnover and striding in for a one-on-one.

Izzo came out quick to block and the following goalmouth scramble was cleared, but it mattered little as Young Roar saw out the match untroubled.

Next up the team face a trip south to meet Melbourne Victory on Saturday before returning to Brisbane against Melbourne City on Sunday, November 9.

Young Roar 1 (Devante CLUT 7')
Adelaide United Youth 0
Foxtel National Youth League Round 2 2014/15 season
Saturday, 25 October at Goodwin Park, Yeronga
Dylan Lambert

Young Roar: 1. Fraser CHALMERS (gk), 5. Matthew SCHMIDT, 6. Devante CLUT, 8. Luke PAVLOU, 12. Brandon BORRELLO (11. Samuel SIBATUARA 45'), 13. Mitchell HORE, 14. Shannon BRADY, 15. Lachlan JACKSON, 18. Jack HINGERT, 19. Cameron CRESTANI, 20. Jean Carlos SOLORZANO (22. Abraham YANGO 82')

Substitutes not used: 7. Liam MILLER, 21. Tomislav BILIC (gk)

Yellow cards: Nil

Red cards: Nil

Adelaide United Youth: 1. Paul IZZO (gk), 3. Ruon TONGYIK, 4. Jordan PUDLER, 5. Terry THEODOROU, 6. Christopher SKULL, 7. Bruce KAMAU (14. Antoni TRIMBOLI 62'), 9. Anthony COSTA, 10. Dylan SMITH, 13. Anthony TURE (11. Samed ALTUNDAG 71'), 15. Mark OCHIENG, 16. Jack BLADEN (8. Adam PISCIONERI 74')

Substitutes not used: 20. Alex WOODLANDS (gk)

Yellow cards: 6. Christopher SKULL 77'

Red cards: Nil